Grateful: small, cheerful things

I say they’re small, the things I photographed this week, and certainly they are, on the surface.

2014-06-06 11.33.16

Nail art created on a peaceful morning, a crazy small indulgence which makes me grateful all over again for my daughter’s gentle encouragement to be bolder. I’ve gone quite extreme, for me.

2014-05-31 19.50.34 2014-05-31 19.50.45

Cleaning up the woods and garden after a couple of years of ignoring our little heaven on earth. That is one of the many piles of trimming and pulling and cutting we’ve engaged in this week.

It feels good to clear away, to let in the light. Not so great for the nail art, but then that means I just get to play another time.

wpid-wp-1401076512917.jpg

And the habit I’ve formed, have been forming – that morning writing. Three pages, just three longhand pages. There should be a cup of coffee in this picture, too. Flexing the writer muscles, and writing does indeed beget more writing. Mornign pages are just the warmup. And it’s working.

These things. Are they small?

I am reminded that taking small steps, repeatedly and determinedly, can take a person far in the end.

Did you take any small, cheerful steps this week?

About vst3in

I am a writer, avid reader, library techie, birder and runner. I make felt and teach others. I love colors and textures and birds and books. I'm working on a historical novel and reading lots of books for young people. I am running to get stronger, and I sail with my husband. This blog contains thoughts about all these things.
This entry was posted in inspirations, Uncategorized, writing and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

