Grateful: confession time

Remember I posted about the various writing inspirations I use to keep me going? Well, I have a confession to make.

All these weeks, I’ve still not been writing on my novel. I’ve been posting here more than I was for a time.

HPlogo_white

I’ve been writing a wide array of content for Homeostasis Press, including…

2014-06-01 12.24.07

and I’ve been writing other things, too, like morning pages. That is happy, that I have re-committed myself to morning pages, three pages of free writing every morning.  I’m enjoying a streak, and that also feels good.

But today I (FINALLY!!) printed out page edits my copyeditor daughter provided for me two months ago. Two months is a long time not to be working on page edits.

It was that #WriteDaily30 jolt that got me going here. I am accountable. And I can be accountable for any of the writing I do, but I really really want to be accountable for the writing I was meant to do.

And this book? My Kate? This is what I am supposed to be focused on, even through loads of uncertainty around me, even through the fact of retiring from my job of 12 years in less than a week and a half, through all the thousands of things that happen every day to pull me away. I’m so happy to know this.

Kate, around college graduation, mid-1900s

Kate, around college graduation, mid-1900s

Hello, Kate. I hope I’m back to stay.

About vst3in

I am a writer, avid reader, library techie, birder and runner. I make felt and teach others. I love colors and textures and birds and books. I'm working on a historical novel and reading lots of books for young people. I am running to get stronger, and I sail with my husband. This blog contains thoughts about all these things.
This entry was posted in collaboration, inspirations, Uncategorized, writing and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Grateful: confession time

  1. Lou Knight says:

    Writing is writing, your creativity has been poured into other projects and that can be refreshing, give new perspective on the well-loved project we so dearly want to finish. Less hard on yourself, more pats on back for committing to morning pages and copy for Homeostasis Press, as well as returning to copy edits on your main project 🙂

    • vst3in says:

      Thanks, Lou! I do know this. Writing is what I do. But you’re right, other writing is taking the place of the novel for now. It’s still writing I should be doing. Good to be reminded.

Leave a Reply

