My Week in Books: Magic, Mystery and Mayhem

2014-09-12 10.11.13

My blog has been a bit quiet this month, and I hope that if you haven’t been stopping by, as I haven’t,  it’s because you’re soaking up sun and books and all the fun of summer. Here are some book suggestions for you,  if you’ve managed to read through your stack and need something new.

The Boneshaker, by Kate Milford

6909642
Delightful, rich characters, and such a feeling of place in every moment of this fantastical middle grade novel. I won’t give away the moment that made me feel so alive and vital, because it has a lot to do with the plot, but it’s pretty special.

The Lost Days of Agatha Christie, by Carole Owens

15884641
This was an interesting grownup puzzle enjoyed on audio. The author used newspaper accounts of Christie’s actual disappearance, to create a story of how she would psychoanalyze Christie in order to find out what really happened during the several days of her disappearance. A very interesting premise for a story, it was a delightful listen of an afternoon.

The Lost Years of Merlin, by T.A. Barron

1190507

Also on audio. What a great story, which I never read from the school library, though plenty of my students love Barron’s work. This one would be better enjoyed in print, I think. The voice characterizations began to grate on me. I will be reading the others in the series, however.

Jackaby, by William Ritter

20312462            25716516
What a fascinating story and premise, with a little of the ghostly, and a little of mystery and magic, which kept me wondering (I’m still wondering) about the main character’s history. A continuation of the story comes in the short story called The Map. It expands on the layers of history and the players in the stories even more. I can’t wait for the second full-length novel to come in September, and I will be recommending it to all my  school librarian friends for upper middle grade students and up.

I am Number Four, by Pittacus Lore

7747374
Greatly entertaining read which kept me on the edge of my seat. Some feel it’s a little shallow, but I found it heavy on the adventure, and just what I needed for a fast-paced escape. I’m thankful for the middle school students who recommended this series, and glad I finally checked it out.

About vst3in

I am a writer, avid reader, library techie, birder and runner. I make felt and teach others. I love colors and textures and birds and books. I'm working on a historical novel and reading lots of books for young people. I am running to get stronger, and I sail with my husband. This blog contains thoughts about all these things.
This entry was posted in book review, books, reading and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

