Exploring New Dimensions (sorry, this post is not about space)

I’ve been creating felt for about 18 years, applying techniques learned from Scandinavian, Finnish, Canadian and American feltmaking traditions.

I’ve recently begun exploring some techniques more fully as I consider a mixed media approach to illustrating picture books.

It’s been really fun to dedicate myself to play in these new ideas and to revisit some old favorites. Some inspiration came from samples I’d created using The Art of Manipulating Fabric, by Colette Wolff.

Those samples are hiding in a notebook somewhere, but my memory of some favorites lingered, and I set myself a challenge. I wanted aspects of the manipulations to occur within the feltmaking process rather than depending solely on stitch to create dimensional changes in a piece.

What happened when I gave myself permission to explore solely for the sake of finding out?

imag1537_1

Felted (rather than pressed or stitched) pleats

imag1535_1

Bubbled fabric without gathering stitches or stuffing

…and a bonus video of making “bubbled” fabric

imag1536_1

Accentuated effects by further felting stitched areas to lift, pull or shape

imag1534_1

A sort of shirred effect created using only the shrinkage properties of the fiber

What happened? I had a blast, that’s what. I’m still having a blast as I continue to dig into these techniques.

If you are excited about exploring some new ideas, I’ve got an exciting two-day class coming up April 8 and 9. Thrilling 3D! Dimensional Techniques in Feltmaking is a weekend course I’ve been wanting to teach for years and years. All the parts finally came together for this great adventure, and I can’t wait to share it with you.

I hope you can come join me in LaConner, Washington, for another fun weekend of learning at Gail Harker Center for Creative Arts.

(Plus, pssst! We’re going to make felted geodes…)

 

About vst3in

I am a writer, avid reader, library techie, birder and runner. I make felt and teach others. I love colors and textures and birds and books. I'm working on a historical novel and reading lots of books for young people. I am running to get stronger, and I sail with my husband. This blog contains thoughts about all these things.
This entry was posted in classes, fleece, inspirations and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

