My Week in Books

Maybe I’m back with this feature, which I loved and apparently my readers did, too.

I’ve challenged myself to read 200 books this year, and I’m off to a good start.

 I’m sharing two I accidentally read at the same time. Why? They both came available from my library in different formats. 

I had no idea some of their guts might have similarities. Decide for yourself if either is of interest to you. I really enjoyed them both for very different reasons, but also for some of the same.

I Am Princess X, by Cherie Priest 

I listened to it on audio, knowing I was missing an element. Must get a physical copy to examine because there is actual art in it! Even on audio, though, it’s a mix of fairy tales, super heroes and villains thrown together in contemporary downtown Seattle with art and coding and computer hacking. Really great.

Illuminae (The Illuminae Files, #1) by Amie Kaufman and Jay Kristoff

Another coding hacker YA thriller with art, but in space, in the future. Gripping and a little mind-blowing. And quite bloody, so bear that in mind if that’s not your thing. I’m ready for the next one.

About vst3in

I am a writer, avid reader, library techie, birder and runner. I make felt and teach others. I love colors and textures and birds and books. I'm working on a historical novel and reading lots of books for young people. I am running to get stronger, and I sail with my husband. This blog contains thoughts about all these things.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

