Touchstones by Donalyn Miller

It’s been awhile since I wrote a post, but I’ve been reading some great ones on other blogs, and this one really hit home for me. I can’t help thinking about this thought: It’s not books that bring people together, but the conversations about books that bring us together. So true, and thanks as always to Donalyn Miller for making us think and bringing us together once again.

Nerdy Book Club

This weekend, I attended the Michigan Reading Association Conference and presented three sessions—one session about early 2016 book recommendations and two sessions about reading response. During the reading response sessions, I shared a few books from my reading autobiography, invited attendees to reflect on their own reading experiences and list books that have been meaningful to them at different points in their lives.

Robert Carlsen and Anne Sherrill collected reading autobiographies from their college students for decades and presented their findings in Voices of Readers: How We Come to Love Books (1988). My friend and regular collaborator, Teri Lesesne, collects reading autobiographies from her grad students. Reading autobiographies have been around awhile, but I think their longevity lies in their value to both readers and the larger reading community.

More than listing favorites, creating a reading autobiography encourages readers to revisit their reading experiences and identify books signifying turning points…

View original post 1,033 more words

About vst3in

I am a writer, avid reader, library techie, birder and runner. I make felt and teach others. I love colors and textures and birds and books. I'm working on a historical novel and reading lots of books for young people. I am running to get stronger, and I sail with my husband. This blog contains thoughts about all these things.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

