My Week in Books: Two Total Favs

I managed to go off on a long weekend trip without a computer and got off my posting schedule altogether.

This week’s books are two that I loved so much that I am telling everyone about them. Yes, just two.

My sister recently gave me this lovely little book.

2015-05-13 05.59.03
I’ve never kept a formal journal of the books I read, but I realize now that some books definitely belong in a place like this. The first two entries are the two books I’m sharing with you today.

There are other books I could go back and add, but really I think I’ll just move forward with what moves me, unless something comes to mind. Two things I might put in here, as I finish their series, though. Alan Bradley’s Flavia DeLuce books and Laurie R. King’s Russell and Holmes books will probably make their way into this journal, as the writing and characters in each series have captivated me throughout.
Marcelo in the Real World, by Francisco X Stork

0-545-05474-5

Marcelo’s voice in this book was so genuine, so heartfelt and real. I don’t think it’s only because I listened to the excellent audio, either. It’s another of those books that opens windows of understanding for me.
What courage Marcelo has! I think that’s the reality of this book for me. It’s the real deal, and so is he.

The Truth About Twinkie Pie, by Kat Yeh

20839543

Oh man, oh man, I love this book!
So filled with heart and food and fear and anger and hurt and lots and lots of love.
The voices in this book are so genuine, so here and now, that I couldn’t stop thinking about it when I wasn’t reading it. I wanted to hug it when I finished. I wanted to hug Kat Yeh when I finished.
Now I want to cook all the food in it, too. Guess I need my own copy, because it will take a while and I don’t think the library can wait that long.

Do you have a book that is a current total favorite?

2015-05-13 05.59.24

About vst3in

I am a writer, avid reader, library techie, birder and runner. I make felt and teach others. I love colors and textures and birds and books. I'm working on a historical novel and reading lots of books for young people. I am running to get stronger, and I sail with my husband. This blog contains thoughts about all these things.
This entry was posted in book review, books, inspirations, reading and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

