Grateful: Finding my Zone

This week’s gratefulness is all about finding my place.

2014-01-10 10.04.28

Cortisone shots allowed me to function for some time before I had to have surgery to repair my torn rotator cuff. Maybe a little too long.

The last two years have been a bunch about physical recovery.

Me, the past two years.

Me, the past two years.

Though I’ve done well, it is hard to find where you fit in the world when it seems your life is measured by physical limitations, and milestones of recovery.

2013-02-13 11.48.24

Foot surgery.

2014-10-28 05.42.50

Shoulder surgery.

It’s possible, certainly – and this is not to say that I haven’t had a rather astonishing couple of years, as far as my new life as a former school librarian goes. And now, in this new life, I feel I’m finding my zone.

First, we’re about to release my dad’s last book.

2014-07-07 20.20.02

Heartwood final edits.

I’ll be revealing the cover soon here on the blog, and inviting you to sign up for our mailing list so you’ll get all the news about everything going on with Homeostasis Press. Heartwood is the first book I’ll publish all on my own as Proprietor of the press, with no instructions left by Dad, no patriarchal wishes to fulfill. Now, it’s my vision. I must create my zone for this book, and I finally believe that with the help of my designer brothers, it’s truly happening.

I wrote “the end” on my historical novel a few weeks ago. It’s with real pleasure that I’m deep into edits and ready to tie up the last loose ends before final work on it begins. This story about this woman feels finally right, and I want to share it!

Kate, around college graduation, mid-1900s

Kate, around college graduation, mid-1900s

And as far as the two years of physical challenges go, these paths in our woods,

2015-05-04 09.33.35

Creating paths through our woods with judicious pruning, boundaries defined, and wood chips laid.

this woman at the helm,

DSCF0399

First sail in more than a year.

and even those these bird feeders,

2015-04-20 07.05.41

The view from here.

which I’m once again filling and hanging on my own, show me that I’m back, and finding my zone.

Have you been looking for your zone?

About vst3in

I am a writer, avid reader, library techie, birder and runner. I make felt and teach others. I love colors and textures and birds and books. I'm working on a historical novel and reading lots of books for young people. I am running to get stronger, and I sail with my husband. This blog contains thoughts about all these things.
This entry was posted in inspirations, writing and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

