MWiB: A Bunch of Books, and Then Some

It’s been a busy couple of weeks, and I’ve missed posting for you. Fortunately, I haven’t stopped reading!

2014-09-12 10.11.13

Ms. Rapscott’s Girls, by Elise Primavera

20307785

Years ago, when I was very new to my library, I got a book called The Secret Order of the Gumm Street Girls by this author. I loved it, and even (rare for me as I read my way through our collection as best I could) re-read it. Then I waited for Primavera’s next novel. She’s written other books, mostly for younger children, but until now, my hunger for more of her quirky, wonderful characters went unsatisfied. This is a wonderful book that 2nd and 3rd graders in particular would enjoy, as well as 4th graders who love an off-the-beaten-track world. I’m feeling much better now.

Prism, by Faye Kellerman and Aliza Kellerman

5134555

This suspense novel for middle and high school students is a kind of altered-reality tale. I’ve read several of Faye Kellerman’s novels for adults – deep and gripping. I’ll be interested to see how other of her books for younger readers stack up. This one lacks the punch that her adult novels hold for me, but I certainly won’t hesitate to look for others.

Relish: My Life in the Kitchen, by Lucy Knisley

15786110

This is a great graphic novel memoir filled with recipes and food that makes me want to cook ALL THE THINGS. I’m purchasing it for my own library.

The Adventures of Beekle: The Unimaginary Friend, by Dan Santat

18295821

This wonderful story of finding the right person to share life with you made me smile all the way through. Santat is one of my favorite artists, and this one won a well-deserved Caldecott Medal this year. Loved the timing of the page turns, and going back to each illustration again and again.

Pluto: A Wonder Story, by R.J. Palacio

24382356

Have you read Wonder yet? Why not? Everyone should. Then read the Wonder stories I’ve noted here, The Julian Chapter, and this one. Then come talk to me.

Dory Fantasmagory, by Abby Hanlon

20484662

I waited for this early chapter book for a long time and when it came, I had a ton of fun. Determined Dory makes her way in the world, and takes us along for a fun ride! Some are comparing her to Junie B. Jones and Judy Moody.

The Curious Case of the Copper Corpse, by Alan Bradley

23480520

Flavia DeLuce has to be one of my all-time favorite characters. I haven’t read the latest full-length novel yet, but I enjoyed this short story available as a Kindle single. If you’re a fan of audio books, you really must give a listen to Alan Bradley’s series (but you have to experience the short story with your eyes).

The Riverman, by Jonathan Auxier

17934459

Creepy, complex, and as a friend said, don’t let the cover fool you into thinking it’s for middle grade readers. It’s definitely a middle school or high school novel, and it was a really interesting one to dig into.

Little Brother, by Cory Doctorow

954674

Techno-geek, gamers sleek and savvy, with a revolution thrown in. Great characters, gripping plot, this is a good read! Also looks as if it’s the first in a series.

I’ll Give You the Sun, by Jany Nelson

20820994

Powerful powerful book. So much to process and dig into here, too – but this time of art, love and betrayal, loss and beauty and redemption, all coming together into this shining gem of a story. It’s one of those that will stay with me for a long time.

I read more this past two weeks (I was sick a and read a bunch instead of posting), and I couldn’t list them all. Instead, I’ll share this article I wrote for The Mixed Up Files, celebrating National Poetry Month and the WOW of poetry with lots more books for you to explore.

Can you think of a book that took some digging into for you?

About vst3in

I am a writer, avid reader, library techie, birder and runner. I make felt and teach others. I love colors and textures and birds and books. I'm working on a historical novel and reading lots of books for young people. I am running to get stronger, and I sail with my husband. This blog contains thoughts about all these things.
This entry was posted in book review, books, reading and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

