My Week in Books: Not for the Younger Set

All the books in this week’s post are for more mature readers. I do feel I need to say that, since I read largely for middle grade and middle school readers, with a huge helping of picture books thrown in. Enjoy these books, though. I certainly did.

The Road, by Cormac McCarthy

6288
Dark, so dark. And yet, so lovely, not a single word wasted. I couldn’t put it down. It’s most definitely a book for grown-ups.

Read Between the Lines, by Jo Knowles

22747804
I’ve read several of Knowles’ books and my feeling is the same with every single one I read. Jo Knowles knows young people. We are inside every character’s brain, and feel the things each one feels acutely. I love the way this one circles around and everything spins together into the same orbit.

Hold Me Closer, Necromancer, by Lish McBride

8041873
All right, all right! I’ll stop saying I’m not really a horror fan now. This was a great story with characters I loved, hated, and feared. I was in the world of their experience as I read. I’ll be ready for the second in the series soon.

The Case of the Missing Books, by Ian Sansom

138686
Wow, what a painful and delightful read, the first in a series. Can that many bad things actually happen to one person? Well, yes. It’s about a librarian, so it has that going for it. Hilarious. Convoluted. Awful. Fun.

The Pirate King, by Laurie R King

9970915
I’m working backward in a way , but I’m doing my best to catch up on all the Holmes and Russell stories in the series. This one is about the theater and film making both, and it’s quite wonderful.

Everybody Sees the Ants, by A. S. King

13528333
Did I already post about this one? I read it a little while ago, but I believe I saved it for a post like this. Strange and wonderful YA this one is, dark but at the same time with a certain hope at the core. I’m opening my mind with some challenging reads lately, and really appreciating what I’m getting out of each one. It was recommended to me by the author of the next book as a “read first” of this author’s work. Thank you, social media.

Grasshopper Jungle, by Andrew Smith

18079719
Well, this was certainly mind opening. If strong language and raging boy hormones and gore and some really weird s**t are problematic for you, don’t read this book. If you are looking for a great, crazy story that explores sexuality, friendship, a story about honor and loyalty and one’s place in the world, and you can handle some “weird,” read this book. It’s a good one. It’s definitely not for everyone, but it’s good if it’s for you.

Is there a book you read recently which is not for the younger set?

About vst3in

I am a writer, avid reader, library techie, birder and runner. I make felt and teach others. I love colors and textures and birds and books. I'm working on a historical novel and reading lots of books for young people. I am running to get stronger, and I sail with my husband. This blog contains thoughts about all these things.
This entry was posted in book review, books, reading and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to My Week in Books: Not for the Younger Set

  1. barbaraberkley says:

    Thanks for the post, Valerie. I may have gotten the recommendation from you, but I recently finished “The Impossible Knife of Memory” by Laurie Halse Anderson. Wonderful book, as are her others that I’ve read. She ranks way up there as a favorite YA author.

    • vst3in says:

      Oh, I must read that one-if I suggested it, it was with a wish for both of us to read it! I loved Speak, and Chains and Forge. I think of all the books in this post, you might particularly enjoy Jo Knowles’ book. I’ve read many of hers and love them all.

  2. barbaraberkley says:

    “Read Between the Lines” is on order at my library. I just put a hold on it, and I’m first on the list for when it comes in. Yes, I think “The Impossible Knife of Memory” was on a booklist you posted. 🙂

Leave a Reply

