My Week in Books: Award Winners, Fast Reads, and Other Good Stuff

2014-09-12 10.11.13

You Are (Not) Small, by Anna Kang, illustrated by Christopher Weyant

20917828

Winner of the Geisel Award in this year’s Youth Media Awards. Fun! Some subtleties to satisfy us all, but also the broad humor all kids  love.

Shirley Link and the Safe Case (Shirley Link #1), by Ben Zackheim

15786085

This was a fun, quick read and I wish we could get this for the school library. However, it’s evidently available as an eBook only. I look forward to following young detective Shirley Link’s further adventures. As a matter of fact, a very generous sample of book 2 was included in my copy.

Burnt Sugar (Firebug 0.5), by Lish McBride

23568534

Okay, I have to make an admission, to myself at the very least, but evidently to everyone else as well. I keep saying I’m not “really” a fan of horror, but, well, I believe I have been mistaken in that assessment of my own tastes. I’m thinking of what I’ve read lately, and how I’m more than ready to read Lish McBride’s Hold Me Closer, Necromancer after finishing this one. This bonus book, a companion to McBride’s new Firebug is also available as an eBook only, but I’ll be getting a print copy of Necromancer from the library.

Under a Painted Sky, by Stacey Lee (Coming March 17th)

22501055

In my last MWiB, I talked about another book about the Oregon Trail book, beautiful historical fiction as I’d love to write it. This one? This is action I couldn’t put down, characters to love and hate, and a wonderful story which concluded so satisfyingly that I didn’t want it to end. Another kind of book I’d love to write. Lee shares about how she was able to create this delightful book trailer this week here.  Watch it and then preorder the book. You won’t be disappointed.

Five, Six, Seve, Nate! by Tim Federle

17720974

Last year I read Tim Federle’s delightful middle grade novel, Better Nate Than Ever. I loved it. It won an Odyssey honor for recorded children’s books, and its sequel won for this year as well. Both are read by Federle. I was able to listen to this one on audio, and loved it, too. Read or listen, but experience these books.

Blue on Blueby Dianne White, illustrated by Beth Krommes

20759732

I attended nErDcampBellingham,  a lovely one-day literacy unconference this weekend, which I will try my best to blog more about soon. I was fortunate enough to win this book, along with an art print of one of the pages. So lovely! Lyrical and beautiful. I can’t wait to share it with students.

About vst3in

I am a writer, avid reader, library techie, birder and runner. I make felt and teach others. I love colors and textures and birds and books. I'm working on a historical novel and reading lots of books for young people. I am running to get stronger, and I sail with my husband. This blog contains thoughts about all these things.
This entry was posted in book review, books, reading and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

