Grateful: Four Circular Things

Four circular things made me feel grateful this week.

My double nickel birthday excitement has not ended, and this is the latest, and continuing, celebration of my “play every day” year.

2015-02-05 16.01.29 2015-02-05 16.36.06

Crazy, I know. Crazy fun. I have my first lesson this week. I’m finding it good therapy for my shoulder. But mostly, well, it’s music. Even the act of playing is circular. What a delight.

This morning’s pan was full of goodness from the farm box, fragrant colors which became a fluffy lovely egg pie.

2015-02-08 08.50.16

I’m always grateful for the act of creating and savoring good food.

I think this pair of circles confirms that I’m becoming one of those eccentric people.

2015-02-08 08.51.09

Another part of my “play every day” year, I’m having fun balancing on these during movies in the living room, or on desk breaks. So is my husband. Grateful for motion, circular or otherwise.

The fourth circular thing is actually rectangular.

2015-02-08 16.00.47

I’ve been getting back to my manuscript after time spent on other publishing tasks. I’m pondering arc and scope and how to make my story its very best. Happily, Deb Lund’s Fiction Magic cards have surrounded me and my writing in a circle of support. Here’s how: Deb, along with being a picture book creator, is also a creativity coach. She’s developed these great cards to help writers jumpstart their stories with a delightful, challenging array of one-word prompts.

2015-02-08 15.59.31

More than that, the guidebook accompanying these beautiful cards contains support for the writer as a human. I feel the parts of my story circling and cycling back and around to connect into a better piece of work as I let the cards remind me what might need strengthening or addressing. At the same time, I’m reminded of what I need to address in my writer life by Lund’s coaching advice.

2015-02-08 15.58.54

Each time I pull out this deck, and the guidebook, I remember that I’m not alone in a solitary pursuit of the best story I can write. Instead, I’m safe within a circle of support – support from other writers, from teachers, and from readers. You can find out more about Deb’s Fiction Magic cards, her books, and her coaching services here.

About vst3in

I am a writer, avid reader, library techie, birder and runner. I make felt and teach others. I love colors and textures and birds and books. I'm working on a historical novel and reading lots of books for young people. I am running to get stronger, and I sail with my husband. This blog contains thoughts about all these things.
This entry was posted in collaboration, inspirations, writing and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Grateful: Four Circular Things

  1. Deb Lund says:

    Valerie, I think you’ve come full circle! I’m glad Fiction Magic is helping you make your magic!

Leave a Reply

