My (Grateful) Week in Books: A Double Nickel Giveaway

I’m turning 55 this week. That seems pretty special and spectacular. Maybe that’s surprising for some, but that’s how I roll. No black balloons for me.

I feel so blessed to be in this world, even with all of its hurts and its heartache, even with all of the bad things that happen. Because, well, good things happen every single day. I promised myself after our mother died, while I was writing The Best of It, that I would work to celebrate the small things that make our world so joyful. Being in this world is one of those things, and it’s not small to live every day and find small treasures packed within it in so many ways.

One of the treasures I celebrate every day (as you certainly ought to know by now!) is good books. I am a passionate book lover and I feel so grateful that I can share this with all of you. What better way to celebrate a birthday (my Double Nickel birthday, as my sister calls it) than to give away some of the books I love?

So, in gratitude, and in honor of my Double Nickel birthday, I’m giving away five brand new middle grade books this week. These are all books I’ve read and loved, and they are all books and authors I want to share with you!

I’ll be posting these on Twitter,Facebook, and Google+, too, and will combine all the comments made in all fourplaces. I’ll draw a winner for each book that’s commented on. You have until Saturday, January 31 to comment on the one(s) you want to be entered for.

Liar and Spy, by Rebecca Stead

13262061
I was not able to write a review of this book. It reached me in a very deep place. It’s probably time I re-read it myself.

The Wig in the Window, by Kristen Kittscher

12848132
It’s not only because I got to meet kind and encouraging and sweet and funny Kristen, at my very first ALA Midwinter meeting at a Nerdy Bookclub gathering that I love this book so much. This is a delightfully smart, funny mystery. I want everyone to know about this one, and to look for her next book!

Flora and Ulysses, by Kate DiCamillo

16052012
Yes, read it. Sorry this one doesn’t have its shiny Newbery sticker, which it won shortly after I bought this copy.

Duke, by Kirby Larson

17265217
Kirby Larson is my role model when it come to writing historical fiction for kids. She writes it so beautifully, and I particularly love how accessible it is for so many grade levels, telling amazing stories without ever once talking down, enriching students’ understanding of history so gracefully.

The Real Boy, by Anne Ursu

17349055
Another I couldn’t review as I really wished because of how it moved me. I loved making one of those memorable book connections with a student, who knew exactly what I meant when we talked about it.

What I hope in sharing these books is that you’ll be inspired to look for others by these authors.

Enjoy! A remember, comment here (or on Twitter or Facebook or G+) by January 31st, mentioning any of the 5 books, to be entered in the drawing(s).

*Disclaimer: Sorry no international packages. I wish I could!

About vst3in

I am a writer, avid reader, library techie, birder and runner. I make felt and teach others. I love colors and textures and birds and books. I'm working on a historical novel and reading lots of books for young people. I am running to get stronger, and I sail with my husband. This blog contains thoughts about all these things.
This entry was posted in books, inspirations, reading and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to My (Grateful) Week in Books: A Double Nickel Giveaway

  1. barbaraberkley says:

    Thanks for the recommendations. I’m turning 60 next month, and I feel the same way as you do about the milestone birthday. 🙂

  2. vst3in says:

    Isn’t it GRAND? Happy birthday early on your milestone day.

  3. Lena says:

    Happy Birthday, Valerie! What a wonderful way to celebrate. I haven’t read any of those books, but I love me some middle school fiction. Ilya does, too. We’ve been looking for some new good books to read aloud to her at night. Thanks for posting!

    • vst3in says:

      Thanks, Lena! Since you didn’t express any specifics, you are in each of the drawings. I think I know which two I think you guys might like best, though…

  4. I really enjoyed this gratitude post. It IS great to be alive, especially for reading books! The Real Boy sounds great. Actually, all of them do! I will add to my list. Thanks for sharing and happy birthday 🙂

  5. Karen Mirante says:

    Your post was especially lovely to me Valerie. I am thankful for everything I learn from folks like you who are so open and genuine. 55 will be a great year for you! Enjoy every minute of it!

Leave a Reply

