My Week in Books: Mystery and History

2014-09-12 10.11.13

Finally, another My Week in Books! It’s not that I haven’t been reading them, it’s that I have been finishing a few long ones. I really had to finish up another Russell and Holmes book, for instance, before posting this week, simply because I couldn’t put it down.

Here are my latest reads.

First, Blue Birds, by Caroline Starr Rose

22105178

I was so honored to celebrate this lovely book last week on the blog. It’s not out until March, so I feel very honored to have gotten to read this book early! Here’s the post I wrote as part of the blog series. Caroline Starr Rose’s debut novel in verse, May B., touched me in a visceral way that I still can’t quite express, and in this, her lovely latest historical work, Rose brings this sweet pair of girls alive for the reader in their own special way. Preorder. It’s too late to receive the lovely print that was offered last week, but you’ll want this one in your mailbox first thing.

Ranger in Time, by Kate Messner

22323698

A fantastic easy read, a wonderful bridge between early chapters and books with more challenge, this is a great historical journey mixed with time travel and suspense, all in the adventures of a brave and loving dog. I can’t wait for book #2.

Gingersnap, by Patricia Reilly Giff

13642619

Another lovely historical fiction for middle grade readers, this one is about World War Two as told through the eyes of a young girl left behind by the only family she knows. It was really lovely on audio. I’d like to see it in print, though, because I need to re-read the recipe parts.

The God of the Hive, by Laurie R. King

6780920

I couldn’t stop reading this book, another Russell and Holmes story – gripping action and suspense, a baffling mystery, and characters rich and deep. As I said with the last one I read, I’ve several on the list.

Medium Dead: An Alexandra Gladstone Mystery, by Paula Paul

23256186

A diverting mystery, this is a good series about my favorite type of protagonist – a kick-butt woman. Glad I discovered a new heroine to follow. This was an advanced reader’s copy from NetGalley, and there are several more featuring the character of Alexandra Gladstone, so I’m in luck. This series will go nicely into the middle school library collection, too.

What have you been reading the past couple of weeks?

About vst3in

I am a writer, avid reader, library techie, birder and runner. I make felt and teach others. I love colors and textures and birds and books. I'm working on a historical novel and reading lots of books for young people. I am running to get stronger, and I sail with my husband. This blog contains thoughts about all these things.
This entry was posted in book review, books, reading and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to My Week in Books: Mystery and History

  1. edcastrotpt says:

    Reblogged this on Ed Castro's Blog and commented:
    More awesome options for “The Best of it”. My kid and I into getting Outfoxed from your last “My week in books”. She likes the cover.

Leave a Reply

