Grateful: Small Shiny Things

I had an amazing, warm, gratifying book launch and publisher anniversary party this past weekend. I have some important things to say about the community that gathered for that event, but I’m not quite ready to share yet. I will, I promise.

Last year, as many of you know, I made it a goal to seek gratitude in the things around me. I was inspired by this documentary, 4 minutes of simple loveliness.

There is so much that’s bad all around us. I sometimes feel helpless against the dark. But I know that I can share the good things, and in that way I can be a force for good. It’s a small thing, and it might not change the world, but it helps me and I hope it helps others that some of us think this way.

So for now, though I can’t change the world, I want to share this tidbit with you, gratefulness for small shiny things.

This.

2015-01-13 12.01.18                   2015-01-13 11.59.48

I can’t stop looking at it, playing with this bracelet. It was a Christmas gift from my dear daughter, who knows me well. These are mood beads, and they are truly ever-changing.

I don’t know whose mood they reflect, but my own is lifted every time I look at this bracelet, touch it, wear it, see the myriad colors change from yellow and black to deepest blue to palest lavender.

And this.

2015-01-13 12.00.17

But Valerie, you say, it’s a Christmas cactus. Those aren’t shiny. Oh, I know that – in the technical sense, it’s not. But isn’t it fantastic, the spark of life in this flower that makes it reach out to grab me with its presence every time I dry my hands at the kitchen sink? Isn’t that magnificent?

It’s become so large that it’s almost a nuisance where it is, but then again, how could such a bright thing be a nuisance in January? By my birthday in a couple of weeks, it will be in full, glorious bloom. It’s done that every year for the past five or so.

I feel as if this is a shiny thing, bursting with color just for me.

Have you found any small shiny things in your days lately?

About vst3in

I am a writer, avid reader, library techie, birder and runner. I make felt and teach others. I love colors and textures and birds and books. I'm working on a historical novel and reading lots of books for young people. I am running to get stronger, and I sail with my husband. This blog contains thoughts about all these things.
This entry was posted in inspirations and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

