My Week in Books: The Mostly Novel Edition

2014-09-12 10.11.13

Welcome to 2015! I’m still reading, and still planning to share with you.

I was gratified to see that I managed to share about books quite regularly for the latter six months or so of 2014, so here’s to more of the same this year. I’m enjoying the ride, and hope you are, too.

I was able to do quite a lot of novel reading over our break – I don’t always find lazy hours when I’m helping to cook for the crowd, but that One Armed Wonder thing gave me plenty of time to spend with books. I still can’t scrub or peel vegetables or scrub pots, so that was my permission to sit and read. Don’t tell anyone what a sweet deal that was! Soon enough, I’ll be fully recovered from surgery, but for now, I think I’ll just read a book.

Dreaming Spies (Mary Russell and Sherlock Holmes, #13), by Laurie R. King

22318363

I read the first book in this series, The Beekeeper’s Apprentice, and was really intrigued and delighted by the characters and the premise of the story. Then I got busy and didn’t realize that book after book was happening around me.

I was fortunate enough to receive an ARC of this book from Netgalley, so now I’ve read #1 and #13 in the series. I’ve clearly got work to do. I was able to check out #10 and put another on hold. The rest have gone onto my library wish list to work through.

The Keyboard Kitten, an Oregon Children’s Story, by Bob Welch, illustrated by Tom Penix

18736887

My niece got this as a Christmas gift, and of course I have to read any picture book which shows up under the tree. It’s very Eugene, Oregon oriented, but I had no problem getting all the humor and connections. I am, after all, a native Oregonian. The premise reminded me a bit of Larry Gets Lost in Seattle.

The Ruby Brooch of Atlantis (Jasper Penzey, International Boy Detective #1), by Monica LaSarre

24375473

I had fun with this one, and I’m glad there will be more. The character of Jasper appealing. I appreciate it especially for younger middle grade readers who are building reading stamina, as it’s very accessible.

The Vault of Dreamers, by Caragh M. O’Brien

20518838

Great action/thriller for young adults. There is some romance too. this one is  from Netgalley, too. I was captivated by the fictional technology and theproblemms it caused by the characters. I sure hope there’s another. What a cliffhanger!

The Book of Lost Things (Mister Max #1), by Cynthia Voigt

17080054

This is the kind of quirky wonderful book which sticks with me for days. Rich in longing and in heart, full of mystery and delightful young people who can fend for themselves, it’s one I couldn’t put down. Also from Netgalley.

I hope you had some time to read over the past couple of weeks. What book captivated you recently?

About vst3in

I am a writer, avid reader, library techie, birder and runner. I make felt and teach others. I love colors and textures and birds and books. I'm working on a historical novel and reading lots of books for young people. I am running to get stronger, and I sail with my husband. This blog contains thoughts about all these things.
This entry was posted in book review, books, reading and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

