First Grateful Post of the Year: #nerdlution15

I‘m sure you’ve heard me speak of The Nerdy Bookclub. This is a group of like-minded individuals, passionate readers and writers who champion literature for children, and celebrate helping students become passionate readers, too. This is a reflective group of folks who are always seeking to improve, and last year, a group of them decided to set some goals and encourage each other (they do this kind of thing a lot). None of them were making New Year’s resolutions, but rather setting the stage for developing good habits. The idea was that whatever they could do, they could keep doing for 50 days. Here’s one of my fellow Nerdie’s posts to kick off this year. This post gives you an opportunity to see the history of the #nerdlution idea, too.

I joined in kind of alongside last year, but this year, I’m joining in for real. I’ve taken my time writing this post – we’re 7 days into our 50 commitment, I know – but I wanted to examined what it was I really wanted to accomplish with this set of goals, what habits I wanted to grow over the 50 days. Here are my #nerdlution15 goals. Fifty days of habit building: yes, I can do that!

Play every day

Sometime before Christmas, I was inspired by this video  shared on social media, featuring a man named Stephen Jepson. Something about it struck a deep chord, and I really want  to commit myself to his precept: never leave the playground.

My rules are simple: engage in some sort of play, small physical challenges, which have that purpose only – I’m not trying to do anything specific as far as enhanced cardio, or tighter abs. It’s true that most of the challenges I’m currently engaged in enhance balance and eye-hand or -foot coordination. I started a few days before New Year’s Eve, and here’s what I’ve learned from playing every day so far:

1: Just 15 minutes of play increases my energy and focus for other things.
2: Play begets play. Everything around me is fair game for inclusion in a challenge.
3: I’m already thinking bigger. I’ve looked at DIY videos for making a hula hoop at home, and we’ve started designing small hurdles to step over, which could be used inside or out.

2015-01-07 06.25.01

Move shoulder daily

Well, duh. We’re almost 10 weeks past full rotator cuff repair. I know that successful recovery lies in commitment to real work at physical therapy. Big things around here this week: I can put on pants with buttons instead of elastic waistbands, and I can tuck in a shirt. I can drive short distances. The goal of successful recovery is why I backed off on the frequency of the next one:

Work out (walk or cycle) three times per week

I’d love to make it five times, but right now I’m committed to giving the shoulder (including two PT sessions per week as long as I can get them) full focus. I record my pedometer miles each evening on Daily Mile, and put a circle on my calendar when it’s a full-fledged walk or cycle.

And of course, there is a writing goal

I so deeply appreciate the authors I follow who offer support for writing commitments throughout my writing year. I taken advantage of all of these to keep the fires burning, and to keep the habit before me:

Linda Urban’s Write Daily 30an occasional month-long challenge which has inspired and supported me on a number of occasions, includes a month of posts from Linda which encourage and prod.

Laurie Halse Anderson’s WFMaD, Write 15 Minutes a Day – she also inspires and prods. This is the 2013 challenge, one which really got me moving.

Teachers Write! Summer camp for educators–an amazing-opportunity for sharing and support from an astonishing array of authors. This link is for last year’s camp. A really cool thing that has come in part from this camp is Kate Messner’s new book, 59 Reasons to Write out this month. I can’t wait!

But for my 50 days of #nerdlution, I chose the quiet challenge I’ve been cranking along on, the one that seems most doable, and if I’m honest is really so very useful and worth focusing on: Debbie Ridpath Ohi’s 250 Words a Day challenge.

250words-150w

I’ve committed to it before, and you’ll see it as a badge on the blog. Though I shared  about it in the past, the community around this one is a bit quieter since it doesn’t end in a month or whatever. I’ll make some new noise about it now, and keep quietly striving to make it happen every day,a s I have for the past year.

So there they are, my #nerdlution15 goals. 50 days.
Here’s my calendar so far, including the key.

2015-01-07 06.25.46

Is there a habit you’d like to develop? I’d love to hear about it.

About vst3in

I am a writer, avid reader, library techie, birder and runner. I make felt and teach others. I love colors and textures and birds and books. I'm working on a historical novel and reading lots of books for young people. I am running to get stronger, and I sail with my husband. This blog contains thoughts about all these things.
This entry was posted in collaboration, inspirations, writing and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

