Faces At Concerts

My friend Ed is a pretty cool guy – teacher, musician, Dad. I appreciate his thoughts on the world around him, so thought I’d share his, since the Best of It is about “Thoughts on the World Around Me.” You should follow this thoughtful man’s blog. Just saying.

Ed Castro's Blog

I don’t often get to look into the audiences when I perform. When I play with an orchestra, I’m lucky if I get to see the faces of the orchestra and choir members I get to perform with. There are no surprises to me about the different kinds of people involved in making music, although I still find myself looking for people that look like me in the ensembles and in the audience.
When I see a person of color at a concert of classical music, I notice them. I wonder if they notice me too. Perhaps they came to this place for the same reason I did…I love this music and music is my truth.

IMG_3838

View original post

About vst3in

I am a writer, avid reader, library techie, birder and runner. I make felt and teach others. I love colors and textures and birds and books. I'm working on a historical novel and reading lots of books for young people. I am running to get stronger, and I sail with my husband. This blog contains thoughts about all these things.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

