Grateful: Opportunity, Gift and Celebration

We almost lost my Dad at Thanksgiving in 2006.

TedPhoto2

A blown heart valve left undetected during a bypass surgery the year before was in full failure mode and he was given a 30% chance of survival into the next month. He insisted on a second opinion and consulted an “old geezer” cardiologist who had cared for my mom some 20 years before. The guy listened – to Dad talk, to his heart – only a stethoscope in hand, no fancy machinery.

That fellow diagnosed the valve, and on that Thanksgiving Day, we celebrated, my sister and I, with saltines and cheese in a motel room, our father’s new 70% chance of survival with a valve repair.

Before the surgery, he called me to his bedside there in the hospital room, and asked me a very important question: if he couldn’t carry on, if something happened, could I take over care of the small press he had established a year and a half before? You can probably guess my answer.

Dad officially made me co-proprietor after that surgery, and we quietly carried on. There came a time when he couldn’t participate and I quietly carried on for him, letting things lie as he left them, making no changes or decisions, simply filling the orders that came in.

Fast forward to 2013. We finally lost our Dad after the amazing gift of years we got from that old geezer cardiologist. We lost him, and the wheels turned, and a year ago I became Sole Proprietor of Homeostasis Press. You can read the story here. It’s his story, and ours, but now, it’s becoming mine.

While my webmaster brother and I were rebranding, redesigning all that had come before, telling the story of the Press, we were also publishing Dad’s  last book, Lessons from Pond Scum.

2014-01-15 07.36.31     2014-04-19 17.58.19

Publishing that book, so beautifully edited alongside him by my brother, was to honor him. Taking the business and making it mine was the way I felt I could carry that honor honestly into the future. And so, I am.

This is been a busy year, full of mistakes and small triumphs and lots of learning. I missed one very important thing in all this, though, and that was celebration.

Next Saturday, I’m fixing that – with a party! We’ll release the e-Book version of Lessons and celebrate the launch we missed the first time around. We’ll also celebrate my one year anniversary as Proprietor of Homeostasis Press. I’m excited about the prizes and treats we’ve got planned, but mostly, I’m excited about sharing our story.

Come join us, if you can, on January 10 at 2 PM, at Soundview School, 6515 196 Street SW,  Lynnwood, WA 98026.

You can join the Facebook event here. You can email for more info here: books@homeostasispress.com. You can just stop by the party, too. We’d love to see you.

Oh, and by the way, we’ve carefully taste-tested the cookies from Edmonds Bakery. We think you’ll like them.

About vst3in

I am a writer, avid reader, library techie, birder and runner. I make felt and teach others. I love colors and textures and birds and books. I'm working on a historical novel and reading lots of books for young people. I am running to get stronger, and I sail with my husband. This blog contains thoughts about all these things.
This entry was posted in books, collaboration, inspirations, reading, writing and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

