My Week in Books: Some Fun Reads

Here is a bonus MWiB for you. I do hope to squeeze in one more picture book post before the New Year, but I’m running short on time and long on family sharing, which is a lovely thing!

2014-09-12 10.11.13

Shelter Pet Squad: Jelly Bean, by Cynthia Lord, illustrated by Erin McGuire

20578902

Oh, what a fun read this was. It’s a great early chapter book, and besides the story, which drew me in completely, is the information about how kids who are driven to action can help, and not just by raising money for a cause. Can’t wait for this and the others to come in the series to find their way into some animal-loving kids’ hands. Only problem, though: now I want a guinea pig.

Joey Pigza Swallows the Key, by Jack Gantos

820517

I listened to this one on audio, read by the author – what a treat. Even more of a treat was re-reading it and getting so much out of it. I read this book years ago, when our daughter was in 3rd or 4th grade (she’s in her 20s now), and I remember how good we both thought it was. I recommended it to many young people but over the years I started to forget why. I needed to find out again, and I’m so glad I did.

Peter Nimble and His Fantastic Eyes, by Jonathan Auxier

10806008

As I said on every piece of social media when I shared about this book this week, this is the kind of story I wish I could write. Whimsy, courage, edge-of-your-seat adventure, heart. I’ll be reading Auxier’s The Night Gardener soon, I’m sure.

Bruno and the Carol Singers, by Martin Walker

16156174

I got this one (it’s an adult mystery title) last year around Christmas, and really enjoyed the main character in particular. I re-read it to my husband on a recent car trip and remembered how much I enjoyed all the characters. I’m delighted that several of the Bruno, Chief of Police stories are available at my local library, and I’ll be checking some out. While it’s not a ripping tale, it’s worth the read for such great characters and wonderful setting.

I hope you find something fun to read, and some slow time to enjoy a good book this coming week!

About vst3in

I am a writer, avid reader, library techie, birder and runner. I make felt and teach others. I love colors and textures and birds and books. I'm working on a historical novel and reading lots of books for young people. I am running to get stronger, and I sail with my husband. This blog contains thoughts about all these things.
This entry was posted in book review, books, reading and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

