My Week in Books: Another Novel Edition

2014-09-12 10.11.13

I’ve been cramming in the picture books (no worries, two more posts about those coming soon!), but I actually did finish a few novels this past week or two.

The Awakening, by local author Dorine White

23511903

I’m sorry to have missed the local events to celebrate the release of this YA fantasy, but I’m still not driving since surgery, so here’s the post I wrote as I celebrated from afar during launch week. As I said in the review, this one would also have great appeal for many of the older middle grade readers I know. Kyler is my favorite character, in case you’re wondering. Thanks again to Dorine White for letting me read her book before publication so that I could share her new release with you!

Mutationby Roland Smith

20578926

It was fun to wrap up this series with another wild ride. I read the books out of order when I was working to hook a particular reader (I succeeded, I am happy to report), and one reason I liked this one so much is that there was a complete recap of all that had occurred through the series. And there is a ton going on in these books, let me tell you! Like Dirk Pitt for kids. This last book in the series just released in September. I received this as a review copy from Netgalley.

A Darker Shade of Magic, by V.E. Schwab

A Darker Shade final for Irene

Wow. I received this excerpt from Tor Books on Netgalley. I can’t wait to read the whole thing, and not just because the excerpt left us with a really great cliffhanger – I love the world building and especially the coat. Not saying any more, just go get this one when the full title releases in Feruary of 2015.

Insurgentby Victoria Roth

11735983

Second in the series, on audio, after Divergent. Not sure I’m ready for Allegiant (Book 3), as I’m having a hard time staying engaged, though it’s still got good action and an interesting storyline. I think I just have so many books on my list that I’m eager to move on. I’m sure I’ll return to Roth again sometime soon.

Did you finish any novels this past week or so?

 

 

 

About vst3in

I am a writer, avid reader, library techie, birder and runner. I make felt and teach others. I love colors and textures and birds and books. I'm working on a historical novel and reading lots of books for young people. I am running to get stronger, and I sail with my husband. This blog contains thoughts about all these things.
This entry was posted in book review, books, reading, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

