Grateful: A Few More Things

It’s rough in our world right now, and I’m trying to make sense of what is truth and how to learn from it all. I’m not really succeeding, if understanding is my goal. I follow the #blacklivesmatter hashtag on social media, and I work to figure out how we even need to be having these discussions and losing these young lives, still.

What I come back to every time is what we learned when my mother was dying. I promised myself more than half my life ago that I would seek the shining moments, and I would celebrate them.

So through the darkness, here are just a few of those moments I’ve found this week.

2014-12-06 14.55.57

So many rainbows at the beach today!

Physical therapy begins for me next week. I’m thankful that it’s only three weeks of appointments, but those weeks run right up against Christmas, and my recovery from shoulder surgery is still an enforced slow crawl through a busy time when I can neither drive nor cook without assistance. To feed our spirits, we’ve taken a little trip to the Oregon coast. We’re free to do that now that I’m not tied to a school calendar. While I miss some aspects of teaching, this is a freedom for which I’m most grateful.

2014-12-05 12.28.32

Beach, and a lovely lunch.

2014-12-06 11.02.58

A lovely overlook on our last full day. A colony of cormorants was perched on the rock cliff below.

2014-12-07 09.37.33

One last picture on the beach.

I’ve been reflecting on the year and I’m very much looking forward to sharing a little something with you, part of my work at capturing the moments of grateful. I’m most thankful for the nephew who told me he can help me with this project. It is all about this sky.

2014-02-12 17.19.01 2014-02-24 16.43.04 2014-02-26 16.53.35

I’m also grateful for what I have planned to share with you in the coming weeks. I’m on the verge of finishing some novels. I read another stack of picture books recently. Next up, on Tuesday, I’m sharing a delightful book, and a giveaway, so you’ll have to stop back if you enjoy picture books and baking. I’m very grateful that I’ll have the opportunity to share a treat featuring those!

2014-07-25 19.39.55

Not the dessert I’ll be sharing with you on Tuesday.

I hope something gentle and wonderful has touched you, even through the dark this week.

About vst3in

I am a writer, avid reader, library techie, birder and runner. I make felt and teach others. I love colors and textures and birds and books. I'm working on a historical novel and reading lots of books for young people. I am running to get stronger, and I sail with my husband. This blog contains thoughts about all these things.
This entry was posted in inspirations, Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Grateful: A Few More Things

  1. Reading Cam says:

    I’m very touched by your words this week. Thank you.

Leave a Reply

