The Awakening: A Magical Read

I was invited to review The Awakening, a YA fantasy by Dorine White, and I must say I really enjoyed the ride! This book just released this week, so I’m glad to share in the fun.

23511903

White’s characters are engaging, each of them someone the reader cares about. The main character, Kyler, has been raised a simple country boy. He doesn’t realize he has any real gift for magic, though his Aunt has actually spent years training him in the ways of the mages.

Kyler begins to find his true gifts with the help of some good friends when he is sent to a special school of magic. There he discovers things about his past which help him begin to make sense of his life so that he can face the destiny that awaits him.

I can see many middle grade readers really enjoying this book as well. The premise of the magic is fun, and the plot is fast-paced. This one kept me interested to the last page.

About vst3in

I am a writer, avid reader, library techie, birder and runner. I make felt and teach others. I love colors and textures and birds and books. I'm working on a historical novel and reading lots of books for young people. I am running to get stronger, and I sail with my husband. This blog contains thoughts about all these things.
This entry was posted in book review, books, reading, Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to The Awakening: A Magical Read

  1. Dorine White says:

    Thank you so much for your review!

    • vst3in says:

      My pleasure, Dorine! I was out of town when I posted, and it didn’t get the buzz I thought it would – I’m linking back to it in my next My Week in Books post, so I’ll alert you when I do so you can share that one too. 🙂

Leave a Reply

