My Week in Books: Okay, it’s not Picture Book Month anymore, but…

2014-09-12 10.11.13

 

Though Picture Book Month is over,  I was busy writing so I didn’t post these wonderful books before the end of November. That doesn’t mean I’m not excited about sharing them with you!

Emily’s Blue Period, by Cathleen Daly, illustrated by Lisa Brown

18355417
What a wonderful treatment of the issues of divorce and how tough it really can be for kids. But also, this is an amazing book about art, and how anyone can use art to express themselves, and to heal. Beautiful, beautiful book. It also made me see Picasso’s work in a whole new light.

Maddi’s Fridge, by Lois Brandt, illustrated by Vin Vogel

20949046
I actually have met Lois, and I share her feelings about the importance of fighting the issue of child hunger in our country. Such a waste in our country, in our very own communities, that so many have so much and yet there are young people who don’t have food to fill their tummies. I also love this book because it’s about two friends who have something they can each do to help the other person. It’s not preachy, it’s not moralizing – the story itself has a message but it doesn’t have an agenda. It’s beautiful. Read this book, and share it with everyone you know.

The Black Rabbit, by Philippa Leathers

15799012

I snagged a bag of books to catalog from the book fair, to help out the Library Team at Soundview School. It was actually purely selfish, though, because it means that I have a whole bag of picture books to read. Watch out. More posts coming as a result of this bounty. But first in the stack -this book!! I loved it all – the art, and what the reader knows while reading, and how the little rabbit deals with his problem. The ending is so lovely – I recommend this for young children especially. I’ll be suggesting it to the early childhood teachers in particular.

Grandma’s Gift, by Eric Velasquez

8561672
This is such a wonderful book, and a great introduction to life as a Puerto Rican in America. It’s also autobiographical, about how the artist began painting. And his paintings are amazing. It’s one of those books that opens doors to a life that we could experience if we only paid closer attention to the world around us. It’s rich with Spanish phrases sprinkled throughout, and exposure to foods and traditions of Puerto Rican culture woven throughout the story. It’s a historical snapshot, for students today who aren’t familiar with record albums, and it’s a cultural snapshot as well, of a family finding its own way as part of America. It’s the type of book we all need to read, because it shows us how we are all part of the rich fabric that makes up the population of our country. This is the prequel to another book called Grandma’s Records.

I’m having to check and re-check my stacks and my checklist to be sure I don’t miss sharing any of the books I’ve been reading. I hope you’re having as much fun with My Week in Books as I am!

About vst3in

I am a writer, avid reader, library techie, birder and runner. I make felt and teach others. I love colors and textures and birds and books. I'm working on a historical novel and reading lots of books for young people. I am running to get stronger, and I sail with my husband. This blog contains thoughts about all these things.
This entry was posted in book review, books, reading and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

