My Week in Books: It’s Picture Book Month! (Part 1)

2014-09-12 10.11.13
Did you know that it’s Picture Book Month? Many of my virtual friends- librarians, teachers, writer friends, are sharing their favorite picture books with students and with other educators this month. So, to add to the celebration, here’s a list of picture books I was excited to read this week. Just so you know, I actually ended up with twice this many to read, and have had to split this post in half.

The Scraps Book: Notes from a Colorful Life, by Lois Ehlert

14999830

We grew up on Lois’ work, our family and me. Our daughter love the colors, and the challenge in finding new ideas in Alex’s books. And now a new Ehlert to enjoy. It is all kinds of lovely and inspiring. Process notes, little stories and vignettes, photographs. This is a lovely slice of one artists history of creating.
The Most Magnificent Thing, by Ashley Spires
Even my husband enjoyed this book. I love the tinkering, the frustration, the process. I also love the solution at the end.

The Troublemaker, by Lauren Castillo

17196512

A naughty raccoon makes trouble for the original trouble maker in this book. Illustrations will delight kiddos as they see the sneaky moves that happen in the background.

Creature Features: 25 Animals Explain Why They Look the Way They Do, by Steve Jenkins and Robin Page

20256596

This is a fun book. Steve Jenkins’ scientifically accurate paper collage works of art never fail to amaze and delight me. Jenkins’ Actual Size will always be my favorite, but I see many unexplored in the back of this book, so there will be more about Steve Jenkins in another post for sure.

Sam and Dave Dig A Hole , by Mac Barnett, illustrated by John Klassen

20708761
There is so much going on in this book. There’s treasure, there’s misdirection, and their mystery switch you need to go back and look at look for over and over again. It was just names to Kirkus’ Best Children’s Books of 2014.

Little Elliot Big City, by Mike Rado

20518989
This is a beautiful little picture book. It’s about friends, it’s about new beginnings. With very few words, a beautiful story is told. Oh, and there are cupcakes, if that is something that’s important to you (they are important to Little Elliot).

It’s still Picture Book Month for three more days, and I hope to share another post full of the picture books I’ve read lately. Have you read some great picture books lately?

About vst3in

I am a writer, avid reader, library techie, birder and runner. I make felt and teach others. I love colors and textures and birds and books. I'm working on a historical novel and reading lots of books for young people. I am running to get stronger, and I sail with my husband. This blog contains thoughts about all these things.
This entry was posted in book review, books, reading, Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

