Grateful: A New Opportunity

This month marks the beginning of an exciting alliance for me. I’m excited to announce, for those of you who might have missed it, that I’ve joined the team of the Mixed Up Files… for Middle Grade Authors blog.

You might not know already how I feel about middle grade students, about their capacity to make a difference in the world, to be passionate about life, to find the answers to problems. They’re also silly and quirky and they’re finding their place. In many ways they’re courageous – sometimes I think they’re not afraid of anything – even as they are scared and seem to need all the protection we can give them. That is how I feel about this age group.

2014-09-23 08.28.32

This group of fourth graders, for instance, came to school before class recently to join in a webinar about sea mammals. Because they are that cool.

2013-09-17 20.35.54 2013-09-18 11.50.40

They are also cool enough to listen to stories read aloud, and to delight in exploring the beach.

It stands to reason, then, that middle grade books are really important to me because they help these kids, students somewhere between 3rd and 5th grades, explore the world from the safety of the page. Middle grade books help kids travel to new places, to become empathetic and to put their hearts in the hearts of other kids like them around the world, in different situations, but with the same big feelings, the same human commonalities. But also they love love love to make believe, and so those books that are rich with imagination and magical endings and just exciting experiences are really important to them. Those books are important to me, as well, because really, that’s who I am. I still feel like I’m a fourth grader inside a lot of the time.

On the Mixed Up Files blog I will be sharing articles every 2 to 3 months. I’ll be linking you to blog posts – not only mine, but those of my teammates that I feel may be of interest to my readers. I’m also working alongside my blog mates to maintain the resources there. This blog is full of them! You’ll find book lists galore! There are pages for teachers, parents and students. This is a place you can go for all things middle grade, and I’m so honored to be invited to be part of the team. I believe I bring my years of experience as a school librarian, my years of experience as a lover of third, fourth and fifth graders, and my years of sharing books with kids as positives to this team. I look forward to joining and sharing in many ways.

In the interest of full disclosure, I have to tell you that The Mixed Up Files blog does not review books. Opinions expressed in reviews you see here on my site, such as those in the My Week in Books feature, are my own, and are not related in any way to my affiliation with The Mixed Up Files.

So go have a visit. See what we’re up to.

***Brought to you once again (very slowly) by Dragon Dictation***

About vst3in

I am a writer, avid reader, library techie, birder and runner. I make felt and teach others. I love colors and textures and birds and books. I'm working on a historical novel and reading lots of books for young people. I am running to get stronger, and I sail with my husband. This blog contains thoughts about all these things.
This entry was posted in books, collaboration, reading, Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

