My Week in Books : Oodles of Novels

2014-09-12 10.11.13

I’m recovering from shoulder surgery. What I’m finding is that reading regular books, with regular pages to turn, is very difficult. I’m really relying on my devices this month, with e-books and audiobooks helping me with my list of books to finish. Here’s my list of novels finished over the last few weeks, as I’ve been icing and exercising.

The Thirteenth Tower, by Sara C. Snider

23005253
This was a great adventure filled with fantasy and danger, and finding oneself. I love the humility yet steadiness of the main character as she navigates her way in a world that is new to her. Good solid middle grade read. I really enjoyed it!

Wild Born: Spirit Animals #1, by Brandon Mull

Animals Cover_MOCKUP.indd
At a certain age children are chosen by animal spirits to guide them and go along with them on their life’s journey. They have powers, which they discover as they grow together. This was a  fun read, the first in another of those middle grade series which features volumes written by different authors.

Brown Girl Dreaming, by Jacqueline Woodson

20660824
Brown Girl Dreaming is beautiful memoir written by Jacqueline Woodson. She reads the audiobook, which sometimes is not a good idea. Often I find that authors can’t effectively read their own books aloud. Woodson, however, makes this a treat, one that we hate to put down.

The Incorrigible Children of Ashton Place: The Howling, by Maryrose Wood

6609748
This book was a blast from start to finish. I can’t wait to read the next one. Just picture some children raised by wolves, the gun happy Hunter who has discovered them in his forest, and the young governess who saves the day. Then go from there.

Forge, by Laurie Halse Anderson

6327989
This is the sequel to Chains, set during our own Revolutionary War. You need to read these books. Great historical fiction.

Noggin, by John Corey Whaley

18049084
I listened to this book on audio. Good narrator, great story, not what I expected at all. Cryogenics, friends, relationships,and growing into a body that wasn’t yours when you were born.

Sabriel, by Garth Nix

518848
These books were recommended to me years ago, both by colleagues and students. I never got around to reading them until this year, when I have some free time, aand after my daughter recommended them all over again. I’m sorry I waited so long, and I’m ready for the next book right away.

Books of Elsewhere: the Shadows, by Jacqueline West

7249522
I listened to this one on audio as well. The story was interesting, the characters were diverse, and the premise was fascinating. Diving into paintings and living in the world’s there is a pretty cool deal.

Gracefully Grayson, by Ami Polonsky

20873172
The this is a beautiful book which all middle and high school libraries should have. Transgendered teens or those who are questioning, and their families, need this book. Brave and lovely, it tells a story we need to hear.

About vst3in

I am a writer, avid reader, library techie, birder and runner. I make felt and teach others. I love colors and textures and birds and books. I'm working on a historical novel and reading lots of books for young people. I am running to get stronger, and I sail with my husband. This blog contains thoughts about all these things.
This entry was posted in book review, books, reading, Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

