My Week in Books #10: The Eclectic Edition

2014-09-12 10.11.13

I’m Baaaack!  Since my shoulder surgery, this is my first book post in a little while and my goodness – this really is the eclectic edition.

What a strange bunch of books I’ve read over the past  few weeks, but all of them good, all of them interesting, and pertinent to what my interests are right now.  Just take a peek!

I’d Tell You I love You, But Then I’d Have to Kill You, by Ally Carter

852470

I thought I’d already listed this one, but I guess not. This was a fun book I finally got around to reading years after a student showed it to me at one of the first bookfairs I organized for our school. Spy thriller/teen/romance/angst stuff. Ally Carter writes fun books.

Don’t Die Under the Apple Tree, by Amy Patricia Meade

12869575

I read this for mood and research for my upcoming book about shipbuilding. And because who wouldn’t want to read a Rosie the Riveter mystery, after all?

Navy in Puget Sound, by Cory Graff, Puget Sound Navy Museum

9127706

This is the book which contains the first inspiration for my upcoming work on a history series for kids. It includes an undated group photograph taken in a shipyard. There are young boys pictured there, some of them probably the ages of the young fellows who went to outdoor school with me a couple of weeks ago. Their faces struck me and have stuck with me for years. Now I want to tell their story.

Fort Lawton, by Jack W. Jaunal

6193351

Big as a shipyard force in the Puget Sound. More book research, flavor and feel. Looking forward ot going through this one again as I get farther into the mood and period of the book.

Warships Inside and Out, by Robert Jackson

14497496

Also some research for my story. This is the kind of book no one really read in my library, but which young kids who loved vehicles loved to check out because the images are all expanded layers and sections of stuff.

Maritime Seattle, by Puget Sound Maritime Historical Society

5127876

Same as above, lots of pictures and thinking, not much information happening for the work on this book. Yet. Sometimes I have to read a lot of stuff before I know where the story is going to take me, and everything adds to the fabric.

I am Otter, by Sam Garton

17296693

At the recommendation of a friend who knows I love otters, I checked out this picture book. It was fun, and I’ve followed the antics of Otter on Twitter, too, I realize.

Vegan Teenage Zombie Huntress, by G.G. Silverman

23218601

I’m really not much of a horror fan – I say that, and yet this was one of my favorite reads of late. Such great suspense, and real characters I could agonize over, good or bad. I couldn’t put it down, and it’s not just because I want to support friend G.G. Silverman in her work. She also has a lovely short story on Amazon, called The House of Butterflies, which I’ve read and never reviewed, but which I also enjoyed immensely. I highly recommend both titles.

Strange couple of weeks of titles, but just right for me. Next up: the excerpt week! Lots of books, but in some I’m reading only pertinent sections.

 

About vst3in

I am a writer, avid reader, library techie, birder and runner. I make felt and teach others. I love colors and textures and birds and books. I'm working on a historical novel and reading lots of books for young people. I am running to get stronger, and I sail with my husband. This blog contains thoughts about all these things.
This entry was posted in books, inspirations, reading, Uncategorized, writing and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

