Grateful: Post-Surgical Selfies

No worries, no surgical scar or bruise photos here. Though I am so very tempted to share with you the fascinating rash that showed through the wide dark blue purple bruise on my biceps for days as white dots on an indigo ground. Instead I’ll capture the things that make it special to be on this side of surgery.

**This post created using Dragon Dictation voice recognition software**
Friend Friday: Lisa took me shopping! My favorite shirt from our shopping trip.

2014-11-01 19.15.16
Social Saturday: Kid Lit Drink Night, with sketching and new friends. I’ve never met many of these SCBWI writers and illustrators before. First sketches post surgery, ouch. These made with book propped on my knee, me on a chair, chair in a bar on a Saturday afternoon.

2014-11-02 18.05.57
Sno-Isle Sunday: Authors Next-Door panel

2014-11-02 14.03.29 2014-11-02 14.20.03
Moving Monday: I went to the store for the first time since surgery, and also had my postop appointment. No more stitches! No photos of this day, except from Costco, when I snapped a shot of the camera I’ve been dreaming of. Not sharing.
Travel Tuesday: first time on the cycle in the basement since surgery finally, some honest sweat! Also, real range of motion begins. Also no picture.
Walking Wedenesday: Hallelujah!! I can tie my own shoes! Time for a walk. Been so long… and feels so good.

2014-11-05 15.42.16
Turtle Thursday: Another writing day today, finally getting blog posts and other writing out into the world. The tools take time. The muscles are sore. Everything feels turtle-ish slow and molasses-y. But so very grateful that tools are here at all.

2014-11-06 10.02.40

About vst3in

I am a writer, avid reader, library techie, birder and runner. I make felt and teach others. I love colors and textures and birds and books. I'm working on a historical novel and reading lots of books for young people. I am running to get stronger, and I sail with my husband. This blog contains thoughts about all these things.
This entry was posted in inspirations, Uncategorized, writing and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

