My Week in Books #8

2014-09-12 10.11.13

Pandamorphosis, by Anne Belov

22028821

This fun wordless picture book was created by a local artist and fellow SCBWI member. It’s so light-hearted and whimsical, and the pictures make me feel like jumping right into the mysterious world of her characters. I look forward to someday meeting Anne in person.

No Girls Allowed: Tales of Daring Women Dressed as Men for Love, Freedom and Adventure, by Susan Hughes, illustrated by Willow Dawson

3302187

I checked out this book to add to my understanding of kick-butt women. I was fascinated with the ways in which women in this book made their own paths in history. It brought back memories of my own much lesser struggles to understand at age twelve why things were different for me as a girl than the boys in my generation. I learned from reading that others were more brave and determined than I. I was just baffled and disappointed. They did something.

Flight of the Dodo, by Peter Brown

1091684

I was surprised to realize I hadn’t read this book of Peter Brown’s. I bought it when he was in town for his Curious Garden book launch some years ago, but I never read it. Why did I wait so long? It was the perfect book to share with 4th and 5th graders after a day at outdoor school, where some of them encountered scat on the trail. This is, after all, a book featuring target pooping. Sounds awful, I know! It is marvelous.

On Writing, by Stephen King

10569

I took a crazy long time to finish this book. I learned so very much from it. If you are writing anything, read it. It is so so good.

Wake up Missing, by Kate Messner

17286690

Wow, what a great thriller for kids. Mix science and capable young people with dastardly bad guys and a swamp, and you have a fantastic combination. Messner knows how to keep us on the edge of our seats, and I think this is my favorite of her books for middle grade readers yet.

Betsy-Tacy, by Maud Hart Lovelace

7909

Lois Lenski illustrated the edition I read, and this book felt in its spirit to me so much like one of many Lois Lenski stories I read as a young girl. I loved it! I felt transported back to the local library where I checked out every one of her books one summer of elementary school. So how did I miss the Betsy-Tacy books? Daughter read them as part of a book club in her elementary school about 18 years ago, and I’m surprised and sad that I didn’t read along.

About vst3in

I am a writer, avid reader, library techie, birder and runner. I make felt and teach others. I love colors and textures and birds and books. I'm working on a historical novel and reading lots of books for young people. I am running to get stronger, and I sail with my husband. This blog contains thoughts about all these things.
This entry was posted in book review, books, reading, Uncategorized and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

