My Week in Books – a Week Late!

2014-09-12 10.11.13

I missed a week! But look, I played with my badge some more!

It’s not because I didn’t read. I’ve been reading right along – but I’ve also been processing several pounds of grapes, and planning an event, and planning to plan another one, and – much to my surprise – writing!

Here’s my week – from a week ago.

An Abundance of Katherines, by John Green

49750

I wish I’d chosen the print version of this book. The narrator took a bit of adjustment after the exquisite telling of We Were Liars, though by mid-book I was enjoying the vocal characterizations. The main reason, though, is that I did not get to experience the visual delight of the anagrams. This is a critical part of the book, the anagrams, and I should see them. I’ve got more John Green on my list. Yes, I’ve read The Fault in Our Stars. If you haven’t, do.

Nest, by Esther Ehrlich

20170580

Another kick-in-the-gut, beautiful, tender, joyous, heart-breaking book. This is a new release, and I recommend that you get it and set aside time and tissues and dive in.

Zia, by Scott O’Dell

953882

I loved Island of the Blue Dolphins, read it more times than I can say. This sequel is just okay, if I compare my memory of how the first book moved me. The historical aspects work well, but though the characters and their dilemma are interesting, the story didn’t capture my heart as Island did. I have to admit to disappointment that the cover image misrepresents the facts of the story and the boat, too… It is fun that I got it from a local Tiny Free Library, and it’s in my stack to put into another (I’m on a mission to find all of them in my area).

Five Days Left, by Julie Lawson Timmer

20821084

I got this book as part of the First Flights program, which highlights first time authors – sometimes I can read the book (these are for adults) and sometimes I just can’t fit it in before the book club discussion. I’m trying to participate in more of these opportunities. This one follows the lives of two people, each of whom has something shattering that they are each counting down to in five days. I won’t tell you what (spoilers), but this book for adults deals unflinchingly with some really tough subjects, including the onset of Huntington’s Disease. I don’t want to say more – not because I’m being mysterious, but because of how things unfold throughout the book.

The Copper Beech, by Maeve Binchy

34312

Are you tired of my Maeve Binchy fix yet? I intersperse between my other audio delights. This one is more tied together a story than the other two I’ve shared recently, but the format is still to focus on one person or family unit and explore their perspective on the other stories the reader knows. Still lovely voice characterization, and storytelling that loops the reader around full circle to a deeper understanding to the characters which have come before.

I’ll share more with you sooner than usual.

About vst3in

I am a writer, avid reader, library techie, birder and runner. I make felt and teach others. I love colors and textures and birds and books. I'm working on a historical novel and reading lots of books for young people. I am running to get stronger, and I sail with my husband. This blog contains thoughts about all these things.
This entry was posted in book review, books, reading, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

