Grateful: Big and small

Such a full couple of months. I keep taking my Grateful pictures, then grouping them all together in my mind into these thoughtful, artistic, long-winded posts. The obvious result is that I’m not sharing anything. Enough of that nonsense.

This happened recently.

2014-08-25 16.26.39

It’s a kind of a big thing at our house. We bought our very first new car ten years ago, and have driven it ever since. From the start, I knew that when our daughter was ready for a car, we’d give her that one and get the hybrid we hadn’t been able to afford at the time.

This is a really big deal, not because it’s a new car (though I am deeply grateful for the ability to do that, don’t get me wrong). It’s big because it means our daughter is launched. She has a stable work situation with enough hours to make having – needing – a car a viable prospect. That’s the big thing, and what I’m most profoundly grateful for right now.

The other thing? Oh, it’s a little one.

2014-09-04 10.59.51

But it’s a silly little something that makes me smile. Smiling is something good. We need to keep doing it.

Grateful comes in big and in small. Celebrating them all is important. Do you have a big or small thing to be grateful for this week?

About vst3in

I am a writer, avid reader, library techie, birder and runner. I make felt and teach others. I love colors and textures and birds and books. I'm working on a historical novel and reading lots of books for young people. I am running to get stronger, and I sail with my husband. This blog contains thoughts about all these things.
This entry was posted in inspirations and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

