#bookaday: So Many Choices

Today is the last day of July. I’ve been posting weekly shares of books I’ve read since mid-June, when I finished my work with students. I expect my renewed vigor and focus on this extra reading to continue with the new schedule I have, but I’m going to carry my #bookaday posts into mid-August and then give these reading posts a different title as other educators posting #bookaday shares return to the classroom.

I had lots of time to read at my mother-in-law’s house, between cooking and Scrabble. And I made it a point to spend extra time during my days there, too, especially after I got my new digital galleys by tripping to the local library.

Manhunt, by Kate Messner

18938092

The Silver Jaguar Society caught me with the first book, and Messner has not failed to deliver on each of these great adventure books for middle grade readers (and obviously, for me). The characters have grown and deepened over the series. It’s a delight to be reading at a time when the body of middle grade mystery in general is becoming so well-crafted.

Sisters, by Raina Telgemeier

17801394

I could only get this to load onto my computer as a galley, not on any of my devices, so I lay in bed way too late gobbling it up with my laptop on my belly. Good thing I could sleep in the next day. Smile was excellent. This one? Even better. Just go get it when it comes out on August 26th and see if I’m right. You don’t even have to see – I AM right. There are already multiple copies on the purchase list for my former library.

Hit by a Farm: How I learned to Stop Worrying and Love the Barn, by Catherine Friend

242592

I think I would have enjoyed this book more in hand than as an audio book. I don’t know if it’s because it’s a memoir, and I respond better to fiction as a read aloud, but I had a bit of difficulty getting into the rhythm of the reading. The book was narrated by the author. Once I got going, of course I enjoyed it. It’s about sheep, after all. And goats. How could I not like it? I realized that I knew Friend’s work because of her children’s book, My Head is Full of Colors, illustrated by Kiki

The Iron Trial, by Cassandra Clare and Holly Black

13608989

Wow. I just loved this book so much! I see on Goodreads that many felt it was like fan fiction of the Harry Potter series. I guess I simply judge each book on its own merits and don’t try to compare in that way. Why can’t there be other schools of magic? I mean, Hogwarts hosts students from other schools which have entirely different perspectives and ways of learning, right? There are similarities and differences alike, and I never even considered the thought of a copy until I saw these responses.

The characters and their motivations completely pulled me in from the start, and the worldbuilding, the story, and the functions of the magic all engaged me, grabbed hold of me. I did not want it to end and I can’t wait for the next one.

Level Up, by Gene Luen Yang, art by Thiem Phan

9630403

I really got into the characters, their relationships and struggles, in this graphic novel. Theim Phan’s simple artwork worked well. I seem to be on a Gene Yang kick. I thought I’d read all that were in the library, but I checked again and I obviously have some more graphic novel work ahead of me.

This was an interesting week of reads. I know I’m very fortuante to have the opportunity to choose from so many books.

Did you read something interesting this week?

About vst3in

I am a writer, avid reader, library techie, birder and runner. I make felt and teach others. I love colors and textures and birds and books. I'm working on a historical novel and reading lots of books for young people. I am running to get stronger, and I sail with my husband. This blog contains thoughts about all these things.
This entry was posted in book review, books, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

