#bookaday 2014 week four: a wide variety

These aren’t listed in the order I finished them this week. I pushed through to finish two yesterday because I wanted to include them in this post. These books were all so different, for such a wide variety of reasons, it made for a very interesting week of reading.

The Fourteenth Goldfish, by Jenni Holm

19085562

I swear this book is about me, about my life as a kid. My father, a biology professor and physician, taught me to love the microscope and the telescope. He left things we’d never dream of eating in the fridge beside the cottage cheese container (sometimes IN a cottage cheese container!), in the name of science. He taught me so much about the world of possibility. This book comes out in August. Do you belive in possibility? Read this book.

Chicago Bound, by Sean Vogel

18245673

I haven’t read other Jake McGreevy mysteries, but this was a fun, engaging read, with great plot points and some good adventures.  I also appreciated that romance could feel realistic in a book written from the male’s point of view.  Good series for my Middle School students.

Animal Crackers, by Gene Luen Yang

2014-07-17 18.28.24

 

I’ve read American Born Chinese, which is autobiographical. Some aspects of this graphic novel, so full of strange ideas, took me by surprise, and I wasn’t sure I liked it, but when I finished the story, I was sorry to leave the characters behind. Check it out!

London Transports, by Maeve Binchy

34297

Maeve Binchy is a gem. Read by a relative of the author, I loved the vocal characterizations in this book about grown up people seeking for meaning in their grown up lives. I so loved the vignettes portrayed in these stories. The voices of these characters are still ringing in my ears…

A Less Than Perfect Peace, by Jacqueline Levering Sullivan

2014-07-22 19.25.55

I am on a hunt for Annie’s War, the first book about these characters. I feel I’d like to read the story that sets the stage, though this one stands alone just fine. They are set in Washignton State and address aspects of war and its aftermath that most books for young people don’t approach. For some touchpoints and some different perspectives, this is a good companion to Duke, by Kirby Larson.

Did you read a book that stuck with you this week?

About vst3in

I am a writer, avid reader, library techie, birder and runner. I make felt and teach others. I love colors and textures and birds and books. I'm working on a historical novel and reading lots of books for young people. I am running to get stronger, and I sail with my husband. This blog contains thoughts about all these things.
This entry was posted in book review, books, reading, Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

