#bookaday 2014 week 4: a great variety!

I had some really great reads this week. We were travelling for part of the time and I got odd chances to read. It was a walking vacation, not a lying on the beach vacation, which is why it took so long to get to this post. I kept hoping I’d get the chance to finish just one… more… book! I did  finish all that were on my list, so I’m sharing with you now. There are a couple of must-reads here.

Comics Squad: Recess!, by Jarrett Krosoczka, Jenni Holm and others

18691025

I knew I wanted to read this book as soon as I heard about it, and I was excited to find it at Munro’s Books in Victoria, BC Canada. I read it in two sittings. We were sightseeing, after all. Love, love, love it! I’m actually passing it on to my former library because I know the kids there will love it as much as I did. I wish I could just buy multiples of everything so I could share, but that isn’t the way my world works these days.

Gabriel Finley & the Raven’s Riddle, by George Hagen

20307078

I got this as an advanced reader’s copy from Netgalley. It is fantastic, a five-star fantasy, five-star mystery jammed with riddles and puzzles, and five-star story filled with wonderful characters and rich settings which put me right down in the midst of the action, all wrapped up in the most wonderful heart. Get this book right away when it releases in late August.

Because of Winn Dixie, by Kate DiCamillo

357664

Kate DiCamillo is without peer, and when I found my daughter’s copy of this book as I was moving books around to make room in my new office, I knew it was time for a re-read. I think this was a two-sitting book too. I could have done it in one, but I DO have to sleep since I arise with my husband and write in the early mornings. I was uplifted and nourished by the beauty and simple wisdom in this lovely book.

Tentacles, by Roland Smith

6336772

I read the books in the The Cryptid Hunters series all in the wrong order, and maybe that’s why I liked this one less than Chupacabra, which I actually feel stands alone better than book two. I just couldn’t really like the characters, so it was hard to worry about them and hope everything would come out all right. But then again, it’s about giant squid, and an evil mastermind, so in some ways everything just couldn’t come out all right… My students love these books, and I’ve loved others of this author’s books, so there is surely something for everyone out there.

The Red Pyramid, by Rick Riordan

7090447

This is an action, magic, myth-filled adventure, and I’m sure the others are as exciting. My students strongly recommended the series and I felt it was time to find out what they are so excited about. I won’t be listening to the rest of them on audio, though. I am afraid that I wasn’t thrilled with the vocal characterizations in this one, though they probably fit the characters quite well. Great plot, great setting, probably great characters, if the voices hadn’t put me off. I look forward to reading the next one in print.

About vst3in

I am a writer, avid reader, library techie, birder and runner. I make felt and teach others. I love colors and textures and birds and books. I'm working on a historical novel and reading lots of books for young people. I am running to get stronger, and I sail with my husband. This blog contains thoughts about all these things.
This entry was posted in books, reading, Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

