#bookaday 2014: Three good stories

I finished three good reads this week.

Sea Runners, by Ivan Doig

I was traveling, and the first book I finished on my trip made me ache to get home and put these two together:

2014-07-07 08.26.07

I am determined now to mark their route on this marine navigational chart, one of many old charts we’ve purchased at our sailing group’s swap meet. Our plan is to paper our unfinished basement with these pages. Giving one meaning from a book holds all kinds of delight for me. It’s almost as if I sailed the route and marked it on my own journey.

This book chronicles the story of four indentured men who escape the hardships of the Russian settlement New Archangel in Alaska for the land of the south. They steal a canoe and head for Astoria. Needless to say, their 1200 mile journey is fraught with all kinds of hardships and dangers. It was a gripping read. Doig is a consummate storyteller, and I always strive to be a better writer after I read his work.

Bones in Her Pocket, by Kathy Reichs

I also read a short story from the Temperance Brennan series.

18135613

We’ve watched many an episode of Bones, but I’d never gotten a copy of any of Reich’s books before. This was a great introduction to the character and the series, and I’ll be reading more when I need my mystery fix. I like the book Brennan even better than the TV one.

Living With Jackie Chan, by Jo Knowles

I finished another really great book. I’m not sure I ever said much about Jo Knowles’ Jumping Off Swings, but I loved it, the first of Knowles’ books I had ever read. The sequel came out more than a year ago and I just never got it in my hands. Well, this past week I got Living With Jackie Chan from my local library and I couldn’t put it down.637823917262306

As always, Knowles paints such real pictures of young adult emotions, takes us into the heart of her characters and leaves us breathless with the commonalities we find within ourselves. Read this pair of books. They are lovely.

I’m conserving my mp3 battery, which sadly no longer takes a charge, so I’ve been listening less lately to my favorite audio books, until I find a solution I can live with. But I’m enjoying The Red Pyramid that way and will share about it when I’m done. Other than that, I’m mid-way through Tentacles by Roland Smith, and a re-read of Because of Winn-Dixie is also on my list, because it’s time.

Did you read a good story this week?

 

 

About vst3in

I am a writer, avid reader, library techie, birder and runner. I make felt and teach others. I love colors and textures and birds and books. I'm working on a historical novel and reading lots of books for young people. I am running to get stronger, and I sail with my husband. This blog contains thoughts about all these things.
This entry was posted in book review, books, inspirations, reading and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

