Another #bookaday: another week 2 post

Besides all those picture books, I finished reading these books in the past week.

The Good Husband of Zebra Drive, by Alexander McCall Smith

7058

I haven’t read a Mma Ramotswe book in quite awhile, though this past year a friend and my sister worked together to get me all the current books in the series. I’m not a big collector of series in print, but this collection is an exception. I very much enjoy picking up one of these exquisitely written books, to experience a different way of thinking, a different world view, and a lovely way with words.

The Julian Chapter, by R.J. Palacio

20878809

R.J. Palacio wrote us such a gift of a book in Wonder. I couldn’t review it – I was made speechless by its power and its gentleness combined. Here is The Julian Chapter, written from the point of view of one of the characters in that story. Wow. Just wow. If you haven’t read Wonder, do that now. Then read this one. A powerful combination.

Oliver and the Seawigs, by Philip Reeve, illustrated by Sarah McIntyre

18187690

What a delightful, quirky, sweet little book. I really enjoyed the ways in which Oliver dealt with the dynamics in his family that didn’t really quite work for him, and how his courage helped his family figure out how to come together as a family in the true sense of the word. Plus there are wandering islands and mermaids. How could you not love a book like that? Illustrations by Sarah McIntyre are lively and fun in blue, black and white.

I’m still listening to The Red Pyramid on audio, though I’m saving it, since my well-loved, over-used ittle mp3 player suddenly stopped taking a charge this week. I think I can make it through this one more book…

The Sea Runners is a compelling read and I’ll be happy to share about this wonderful Ivan Doig book when I finish.

I might not get distracted from these two longer books to finish any others and post again right away, but I promise I’ll share when I finish. I’m really enjoying spending some focused time in books I haven’t given myself permission to dig into.

Did you read a really great book this week? Are you in the middle of one, or just finish it? Please share! We’d all love to hear what you’re reading.

 

About vst3in

I am a writer, avid reader, library techie, birder and runner. I make felt and teach others. I love colors and textures and birds and books. I'm working on a historical novel and reading lots of books for young people. I am running to get stronger, and I sail with my husband. This blog contains thoughts about all these things.
This entry was posted in book review, books, Uncategorized and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

