Grateful: Tribes

2014-06-11 21.12.28

I’ve been thinking about the groups of people I engage with in the course of my days.

I’m not a huge social animal, but there are certain groups I have come to feel comfortable with. They are my tribes. There are two tribes in particular I’ve been thinking about quite a bit this week.

One is my swimming pool tribe. We’re all members at the pool. You would be, too, if you showed up in a bathing suit, your body perfect or simply comfortable, thin or broad, whole or broken. If you got into the water and started moving, and said good morning to one other person, you’d be part of our tribe.

The tribe gathered around one of our own the other day, as she got into the pool for the first time since her husband entered a coma, then passed away and was buried. She held our hands there in the water, and told her story. And I felt grateful for this tribe, her tribe, part of her healing, and I felt honored and humbled to be part of helping her through her grief.

Then there is the tribe I’ll be leaving soon. Most of them have said their goodbyes already. This is the tribe I’ve associated myself with most closely for the past 12 years. The people have changed, many of them, but for the long haul, these have been my folks, the ones who work at Soundview School. That’s what I’ve done. That’s who I’ve been. And it’s a really great tribe, that group of folks I’ve been honored to call my colleagues. They are committed to what’s best for students. They work hard to be the best professionals they can be. They are really great folks.

And now? I won’t be part of that tribe anymore. I’ll begin to be part of other tribes. Other alliances and ways of working and being will develop. I don’t know yet what shape my days will take, but my tribes will never be the same.

 

 

About vst3in

I am a writer, avid reader, library techie, birder and runner. I make felt and teach others. I love colors and textures and birds and books. I'm working on a historical novel and reading lots of books for young people. I am running to get stronger, and I sail with my husband. This blog contains thoughts about all these things.
This entry was posted in collaboration, inspirations, Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

