Summer Reading – Ready or Not? by Tamara Sakuda

This is how engage students to be readers. This is how we lead them to success and independence.

Nerdy Book Club

In most parts of the United States, school is out for the summer, and for many middle and high school students, this means the dreaded Summer Reading Assignment!  As teachers we all know the significance of independent reading especially over the summer. Stephen Krashen, author of The Power of Reading, concludes that “reading is the most powerful tool available for building vocabulary as well as the ability to read, write, spell, and comprehend.” In addition, my own son’s high school recently posted a chart on the summer reading section of their website — this chart shows the correlation of minutes spent reading and outcomes on standardized tests. As a parent and a teacher, I value this information as it confirms my own beliefs in the power of reading. The problem is that most students do not share these beliefs – especially when siren song of summer calls…

View original post 1,097 more words

About vst3in

I am a writer, avid reader, library techie, birder and runner. I make felt and teach others. I love colors and textures and birds and books. I'm working on a historical novel and reading lots of books for young people. I am running to get stronger, and I sail with my husband. This blog contains thoughts about all these things.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

