Grateful: little things are big

Some simple things to be grateful for, in the past two days. As often, I find, they seem small when I set out to share them. Yet taken all together, they serve as reminders of how important this exercise is: these small things can give me enormous joy, if I let them.

2014-05-16 15.46.07

Here are my “sheer and shimmering” nails. Silly little thing, but I’m playing with the polish my daughter gave me for Mother’s Day. I was practicing putting on thin coats, and I’m inspired to try a few new things with color now, ready for slow and patient steps in the process. It’s also a connection I enjoy with my daugher,  a fun way to share.

2014-05-16 20.40.49

We enjoyed watching this sailboat as it worked its way up the cut along Jetty Island, with only its mainsail out, reefed against some brisk wind and striving against a strong current. This was  a family out enjoying time together on the water, and it was fun to watch them.

2014-05-16 20.20.51 2014-05-05 20.11.04

We’ve enjoyed some dramatic skies on our walks lately, too.

2014-05-17 05.35.11

Camping on the boat includes hikes to the restroom, a quarter of a mile round trip. Here’s the little sweetling I encountered at 5 in the morning when I headed up to use the facilities.

Boat toast is an unequaled joy, requiring too much butter melted in the pan, to which one adds a slice of good bread. It is cooked until browned on both sides and sprinkled liberally with cinnamon sugar. It is best consumed with freshly brewed coffee. One must repeat (because it’s a one slice at a time exercise). I’ve looked for a photo – I have one from days gone by – but tonight I can’t find it. You will have to rely on my descriptive powers for this small piece of gratefulness.

2014-05-15 17.12.35 2014-05-15 19.38.33 2014-05-17 20.03.20 2014-05-17 20.21.03

Then, of course, more flowers on yet another walk.

Are you tired of these pictures yet? I cling to them as tiny flags of hope and delight. I hope they serve to remind you of what is delightful and hopeful in your world, too.

About vst3in

I am a writer, avid reader, library techie, birder and runner. I make felt and teach others. I love colors and textures and birds and books. I'm working on a historical novel and reading lots of books for young people. I am running to get stronger, and I sail with my husband. This blog contains thoughts about all these things.
This entry was posted in inspirations, Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

