Grateful: spring has sprung

It’s been quite a couple of weeks, but I do keep taking pictures to capture my gratefulness. This time it has been spring moments encountered on our walks.

2014-04-26 15.25.00

We were on our usual evening jaunt to the headland when I noticed these tiny white and pink flowers my German friend Brigitte used to call “goose flowers.” They are always a herald of spring, both here and in Germany, evidently.

2014-04-24 19.18.55

This tree is grafted and has both pink and white blossoms on it. Interesting to gaze up through!

One day we were on our walk and happened upon the Plant Sale signs that pop up every year or so – we turned around and walked up to an acquaintance’s to see what she had on offer. She is a Master Gardener and propagates numerous species on her property, simply for the love of plants. It’s always a delight to visit. We’ve gotten some very lovely native plants from her over the years, but we were looking for something quite specific, or my husband was.

2014-04-26 14.34.42

He was delighted to find it there!

2014-04-26 14.34.37

Here’s another lovely blooming tree we saw on the way home from finding our treasure.

2014-04-26 18.24.44 2014-04-26 18.24.51

Here’s the new plant in its new home between our bamboo pots. It’s very happy there – the leaves are turning dark and shiny.

2014-04-28 15.21.54

One last spring moment: babies!

About vst3in

I am a writer, avid reader, library techie, birder and runner. I make felt and teach others. I love colors and textures and birds and books. I'm working on a historical novel and reading lots of books for young people. I am running to get stronger, and I sail with my husband. This blog contains thoughts about all these things.
This entry was posted in inspirations, Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

