Earth Day and The Overview Effect

The morning after I readied my father’s last book for publication, someone shared this video with me. The power of the observations related here moved me deeply, especially in light of the work my brother and I had just been doing to bring Dad’s message to the world. They spoke to me of what my Dad had been saying all my life, and what is in essence the body of his book.

The video is twenty minutes long. Do take the time to watch it. I think it’s very important.

You can learn more about the Overview Effect by visiting The Overview Institute. I think our Dad would have loved this. It makes me think of his Eco-Jars (you have to read his book to find out why).

DSCF0009-002

It’s definitely time to make one of my own again.

A short time after the publication of the book and the discovery of the video converged, I went through some of Dad’s things and came across this poster, which he had hanging in his office for a long time. I need to find the right place to hang it in my own office now. It goes nicely with his book, too, doesn’t it?

2014-04-19 17.58.19

All this leads me to this week, and to this Tuesday in particular, which, of course, is Earth Day. Earth Day is very important to me. Our Dad organized the first one in our community, and hosted it on our property. I was in elementary school. That experience made a lasting impact on me.

In honor of Dad’s work and ideals, all Homeostasis Press books are on sale all this week, starting tomorrow, April 20th. Please visit http://www.homeostasispress.com/index.php and celebrate with me!

About vst3in

I am a writer, avid reader, library techie, birder and runner. I make felt and teach others. I love colors and textures and birds and books. I'm working on a historical novel and reading lots of books for young people. I am running to get stronger, and I sail with my husband. This blog contains thoughts about all these things.
This entry was posted in collaboration, inspirations, Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

