Grateful: All kinds of light

I had a day to be grateful for from start to finish today. Each thing I did taught me something, and in the end, I realized that each of those things was about light. Grateful for the learning, though I have no photographs to capture my day.

Lighten the load. I stripped down the contents of my swim bag today. Removed more than a pound of stuff I carry around and never use. Changed out the hairdo, too, and eliminated half the fuss of clips and bands. Felt very free.

Light has returned. It was light when I left the house at 6:15; I didn’t need the porch light to get down the steps. The sky was full of light, dotted with pink clouds and a 3/4 moon.

And in the pool, the light started coming through the windows and onto the water again. Some people squint. I smiled today, when it hit my face. To me, it’s magic and glorious.

Shining a light on questions. I’ve been putting a laser focus on my writing. I’ve been looking for ways to show Kate’s motivation to join the war effort. I spent a delightful afternoon crouched in front of a microfilm machine at the public library, reading newspapers from 1916 to 1917. So much I learned! So much light shed on things which were not clear to me.

Possibly the most enlightening article of the day came from Chicago,  April 14, 1917:

Girl Tries to Enlist in Army and is Advised to Join Red Cross Service

… While the applicant was signing the papers Lieut. L.M. Stevens noticed a tendril of hair straying from the youth’s hat.

“Is the lady sure she wants to enlist?” he asked suddenly.

“Who me? Yes, I am a woman. I am Miss Jean Ray and I’m 20 years old. I want to be a gunner.”

Lieut. Stevens expressed regret that the Army had no place for Miss Ray and advised her to go home, change her clothes, and join the Red Cross.

This was Kate’s own world. Now I have more ways to show it.

 

About vst3in

I am a writer, avid reader, library techie, birder and runner. I make felt and teach others. I love colors and textures and birds and books. I'm working on a historical novel and reading lots of books for young people. I am running to get stronger, and I sail with my husband. This blog contains thoughts about all these things.
This entry was posted in inspirations, Uncategorized, writing and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

