Grateful: Some Quiet Time

I’ve been quiet lately. I haven’t posted in a bit. More than a week, actually. I’ve not been very active in any of my virtual worlds. Been working on some stuff. Been working on being quiet, staying mobile and fit. Been talking and writing to people about Dad’s book.

Been doing some research, and reading widely, finishing books I’ve left sitting. Been quiet.

2014-04-16 07.59.10

Been digging more deeply into the motivation of the characters in my own book, revisiting lessons and exercises and notes.

A few things hurt right now, a few things are hard right now (aren’t there always things like that?), but then there are these things.

2014-04-06 09.15.43

White Dominican vanilla. Well, it’s all gone now, and we were sad to finish it, unique and floral as it is, but the memory of buying it in the Dominican Republic, the profound experience I had there, makes me grateful.

2014-04-12 16.37.01 2014-04-12 17.06.30

Some signs of spring. The river on a lovely walk with my husband at his Mom’s house, and tulips in her neighborhood.

This! My first official sale as a publisher, in honor of Earth Day. It was so important to our Dad, and as an 11 year old that first Earth Day, organized by him in our community and hosted on our property, it was a Big Deal, and still is to me. I’ll be hosting an Earth Week sale every year at Homeostasis Press in honor of his involvement with the first one. So hey! You could buy some books on sale!

2014-04-14 18.15.35 2014-04-14 18.15.48

A very windy walk on the waterfront. It was a lovely warm afternoon which turned blustery and cold! We bundled up almost enough and enjoyed being blown around a bit.

2014-04-17 10.07.51

These! I am so grateful to my friend Laura, who thought of me on an anniversary trip, and got me the VERY COOLEST and nerdliest set of a bajillion colored tape tabs with the thought that they would be helpful in my editing process. Yup. They will be!

These things made me smile in that quiet place inside. Did anything make you smile this week?

About vst3in

I am a writer, avid reader, library techie, birder and runner. I make felt and teach others. I love colors and textures and birds and books. I'm working on a historical novel and reading lots of books for young people. I am running to get stronger, and I sail with my husband. This blog contains thoughts about all these things.
This entry was posted in books, inspirations, writing and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Grateful: Some Quiet Time

  1. edcastrotpt says:

    Domincanvanill…yum! We’ll just have to get some more. Love your post. Good know you’ve been up to stuff.
    Cheers,

    • vst3in says:

      That stuff is so different from the kind we typically get here! Dreamy in my husband’s French toast. We have to get used to regular vanilla now.

Leave a Reply

