#bookaday: A Smattering of reads

I was excited for vacation to start, partly because this time, I would join in the  #bookaday party many of my Twitter friends participate in when they are on vacation from school. You can see what’s happening by following this hashtag.

I started with a great nonfiction book. However, I fell down right away with posting. And I fell down on the “a day” part too – finding that what I really wanted to read was the long books I’ve been wading through.

I’ve finished these books this break:

17385132

Mummies and Sound, by Anthony Wacholtz, a funny, informative book!

18005275

Early Bird, by Toni Yuly – simple and sweet, by a local author I hope to meet someday.

18388531

The Swamp Where Gator Hides, by Marianne Berkes – like The House the Jack Built, set in the swamp.

I’ve spent time in these books this break:

17667561

The Shadow Throne, by Jennifer Nielsen, the final book in the Ascendance trilogy.

15797695

Scowler, by Daniel Kraus on audio, part of the Youth Media Awards list I’m working through. I’m nearly finished with this one.

19212429

84 Ribbons, a debut YA novel by local author Paddy Eger.

17332243

Hild, by Nicola Griffith. I’m savoring this book, and finding that it’s too heavy (physically) for me to read at bedtime. I pick it up several times a week.

13206760

I’m also looking forward to listening to Scarlet, by Marissa Meyer, once I’m done with Scowler. Cinder really left me hanging.

I’m very much looking forward to reading this one next:

18607159

Courage for Beginners, an ARC sent to me by author Karen Harrington. Thanks, Karen! This one is coming out in August.

That’s my #bookaday experience, with half my break left to explore some good reads. Have you enjoyed any good books lately?

About vst3in

I am a writer, avid reader, library techie, birder and runner. I make felt and teach others. I love colors and textures and birds and books. I'm working on a historical novel and reading lots of books for young people. I am running to get stronger, and I sail with my husband. This blog contains thoughts about all these things.
This entry was posted in books, inspirations, reading, Uncategorized and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

