Grateful: Pain management

I set a goal for myself recently, which seemed manageable at the time, and which normally will be, I imagine. Three blog posts a week: two grateful posts and one related to reading or writing (or both).

This week fell apart as I descended into a pain/sleep disruption cycle which took all my energy, and much of my heart. But here I am, more mobile than I have been, on the other side, with a better understanding of what can put me there, I think.

I’m grateful for anti-inflammatories and for doctors, who are working to understand how best to help me continue to be the active person I’ve been.

I’m grateful for water. I’m focused on drinking more fluids, which has paid off in many ways, but I am particularly grateful, as I’ve said before, for my local rec center pool. The hot tub, the river, the sauna, the therapy pool. I used all but the lap pool this week, and broke through to the other side of what was becoming debilitating and in some ways frightening pain.

I work hard to keep things in perspective. Yes, I know that others have it worse than I. How could I not understand that when I watch the struggles of folks I move and chat with weekly arriving at the rec center, as they work their way along the pool deck, each step an effort I can’t even imagine? It’s easy to lose sight of, though, at 2 in the morning the fifth day in a row when no position in bed is anything but painful, when lying down is worse than being up in the middle of the night, and being up isn’t much better. Again. It’s easy to lose sight of that when making a pony tail one day is a bit uncomfortable, and the next is a serious issue.

Here’s something else I’m grateful for (and yes, I’m happy that “reader” cups are taking over our cupboard):

2014-03-30 10.49.16

Reading has been a thankful distraction, and because I’ve been reading so much to take my mind off pain, I’ve been able to spend the past few days catching up with book reviews (I wrote seven of them on Friday), though not for the blog this time. Soon enough – I just finished a really special book, and I can’t wait to share it with you.

I’ve had a good couple of days since I went to the pool, and I’m convinced that it is the reason I’ve climbed out onto the other side again, back toward the light and some rest and hopefully some mobility. I’m headed there again tomorrow.

So tell me: what challenge did you have to manage this week? I’d love to hear your thoughts.

About vst3in

I am a writer, avid reader, library techie, birder and runner. I make felt and teach others. I love colors and textures and birds and books. I'm working on a historical novel and reading lots of books for young people. I am running to get stronger, and I sail with my husband. This blog contains thoughts about all these things.
This entry was posted in book review, books, inspirations, reading, Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Grateful: Pain management

  1. Carmel Cameron says:

    My challenge was to quit obsessing over my weight and letting go of vanity. It seems a silly first-world problem. But I’m thinking of you, my dear friend, and remembering you in my prayers.

  2. vst3in says:

    Isn’t it interesting what we obsess over? Someday I will stop with the crutch of wearing shorts over my suit when I go to the pool. That, too, is silly first-world. Having the pool is not a problem, but a first world privilege. I know that. I’m grateful. Thanks for thoughts, prayers, and sharing.

Leave a Reply

