Grateful: Page Edits and Duck Couples

Today was one to be grateful for, though surely our thoughts are with the people of Oso, Washington, up the road a piece from us, after a horrific mudslide which has left some dead and many more missing, and has dammed the Stillaguamish river. Many have lost homes and many more are waiting to see what the dammed up river and the still-moving mud will do next. It is horrible and our hearts are with those who are hurting or worried about loved ones.

For us, with no one we know directly impacted, it was a day much like any other, with the gift of weekend sun.  Hubby did taxes and I provided tax help (cups of tea and that one form he needed at just the right moment).

Between cups of tea and crucial forms, I was entering page edits completed on the train into the manuscript. I feel particularly grateful for this. It feels so good. Entering them into the manuscript means that I’m moving forward with the writing, and that now I can truly set these parts aside for this go around. They are ready for later, when I finish doing this to the whole book. That’s when I’ll print it all out and read it aloud to myself, colored pens in hand. For now, the pages with big Xes on them are stacking up in the drawer.

2014-03-23 12.52.44

Finished page edits pile like leaves fallen from the trees.

We found a stopping place in the taxes and used something or other on the boat as an excuse to go to the marina. That was where we’d be sure to get a walk, at least, since it’s one of our favorite things to do.

The second thing I’m grateful for, then, is this handsome couple, encountered on our walk along the waterfront.

2014-03-23 18.01.23 2014-03-23 18.01.56

They flew up from the waterway below and each carefully chose a pedestal to land on.

Mr. was kind enough to turn his handsome head so I’d get the best display. Mrs. made the most adorable little squeaky noises, as if she wished I’d come over and scratch her under the chin. They let me get very close, talking and squeaking all the while.

I feel humbled by days so simple and so rich.

About vst3in

I am a writer, avid reader, library techie, birder and runner. I make felt and teach others. I love colors and textures and birds and books. I'm working on a historical novel and reading lots of books for young people. I am running to get stronger, and I sail with my husband. This blog contains thoughts about all these things.
This entry was posted in books, inspirations, Uncategorized, writing and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

