Grateful: a new adventure

I’ve talked a fair amount on this blog about the publishing company my Dad established several years ago. After his death last year, it became mine, but not all at once, and not without quite a lot of work on my part. It turned out to be more work than I envisioned at first. I imagined that I had inherited a structure. In a way, I suppose I had. Really, though, it was a seed that came to me, and with much care and feeding, it’s germinated over the past several months. Now, it’s coming into bloom.

Working with my oldest brother, the web designer, I put the existing website my Dad had conceived through a series of examinations and exercises. I wrote and reflected about what I wanted for the future. My brother made me think bigger than I was prepared to, at times, and I had to stretch my thinking more than once. I can’t count the number of emails we’ve shared since November, when my journey toward Publisher truly began. The business structure underwent similar scrutiny. I’ve spent countless hours in contemplation and research and hard thinking. And now it’s time to share it with you!

HPlogo_white

I am pleased to announce the re-invigorated launch of Homeostasis Press at http://homeostasispress.com/. I am proprietor of this Print on Demand publishing company located in Edmonds, WA, part of the Ingram/LSI family. Currently, the catalog includes memoir, ecology, Pacific Northwest titles, and poetry. There are many adventures coming down the road.

I remember standing beside Dad’s hospital bed the night before his third open heart surgery. He asked me if I would be willing to take on this role in the event that he became unable to carry on. Well, what would you say? And after all that time and care, here we are. Please stop by and celebrate with me! You’re welcome to stay awhile. Do read about how this idea began, and dip into some excerpts, if you’ve a mind.

TedPhoto2

I am deeply grateful for Dad. For his ideas. For his vision, and for his trust in me. My new hat is sitting comfortably on my head today. It is a little bit scary, but so far, it feels just right.

About vst3in

I am a writer, avid reader, library techie, birder and runner. I make felt and teach others. I love colors and textures and birds and books. I'm working on a historical novel and reading lots of books for young people. I am running to get stronger, and I sail with my husband. This blog contains thoughts about all these things.
This entry was posted in books, collaboration, inspirations, reading, Uncategorized, writing and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to Grateful: a new adventure

  1. fibreisle says:

    Wow! It’s been an eventful year for you, and it’s only March. Congratulations! I know you are enjoying this journey, connected to your father.

  2. edcastrotpt says:

    Congratulations on this new adventure. I look forward to reading more.

  3. Pia Kamimura says:

    Lovely post, Valerie! Congratulations and best of luck to you on this new venture. I admire your courage and look forward to what’s ahead for you…!

  4. Sheila Courtney says:

    Thanks for all the encouragement you have given me…regarding my book…and other things. You will shine as you always do…because you are a very creative and caring person.

    • vst3in says:

      Wow, such a compliment, Sheila! And look at you, future blogger! You are jumping into a whole new world yourself. Thanks for the sweet and encouraging words…

Leave a Reply

