A Man and His Medium

I was so disappointed that my schedule did not allow for any of this exciting sharing that went on at Gail’s studio recently.

Gail Harker Center for Creative Arts

Just recently Lanny Bergner came to our studio to teach a group of students how to make forms from mesh. He demonstrated how to begin with a sheet of plain unimpressive mesh which most people would think  – screen door!  But in the hands of Lanny this ordinary screen mesh morphs into a piece of artwork.   Lanny has truly learned about his medium.  What can be done with it?  bend? heat? sculpt? color? etc.   He manipulates and forces  every element of art and design from this mesh.  Our students had the benefit of a man who knows and understands his medium.  There is a lesson here for everyone who is making art, without even coming to a class.   Gail

View original post

About vst3in

I am a writer, avid reader, library techie, birder and runner. I make felt and teach others. I love colors and textures and birds and books. I'm working on a historical novel and reading lots of books for young people. I am running to get stronger, and I sail with my husband. This blog contains thoughts about all these things.
Gallery | This entry was posted in classes, inspirations, Uncategorized and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

