Grateful: a myriad of things

I spent this past week at my mother in law’s to take care of some business. As with the last visit, we spent time enjoying ourselves over cups of tea, crossword puzzles and shared food.

I walked every single day, even though the weather was sometimes horrible. I always found a window in which to walk between the worst rain storms, and only actually got wet one day.

I feel grateful not only for the time I got to spend with a beloved family member, but for all the reminders of how sweet and wonderful life really is.

2014-03-03 13.15.32

One of my favorite train stations, a lovely old brick building in Centralia. Yes, this time I actually got to ride the train all the way!

2014-03-07 08.09.54

This young deer was sucking seed straight from the bird feeder. The pile on the ground below when it was finished made for easy pickings, too.

2014-03-07 16.24.51

Three of them  bedded down for the afternoon one lovely sunny afternoon. We enjoyed watching them.

2014-03-08 15.23.44

I tweeted about this scenario from the train home, but I couldn’t connect to wi-fi, so left out the picture. A total of 47 pages of edits on my book were completed during this time away. The ones on the train included some delightful chocolate.

I never forget how fortunate I am.

About vst3in

I am a writer, avid reader, library techie, birder and runner. I make felt and teach others. I love colors and textures and birds and books. I'm working on a historical novel and reading lots of books for young people. I am running to get stronger, and I sail with my husband. This blog contains thoughts about all these things.
This entry was posted in books, inspirations, writing and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

